1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help Overclocking Q6600 to 3.6Ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by HumanXJT, Jan 28, 2009.

1. HumanXJT New Member

Thanks Received:
    I'm new to overclocking and so far i am able to overclock my Q6600 to 3.2ghz (400mhz x 8) with a vcore of 1.325.
    When i try overclocking anything above that the system won't POST/BOOT even when i increase the vcore up to 1.5v.
    I think i might need to increase the other voltages, unfortunately since i'm still new to overclocking i have no clue what i should increase. :confused:
    Also could the problem be due to my 4x1GB ram, as i've seen people saying overclocking would be easier with less ram.

<<--- System Specs :)

Thank you for your help.

Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
  2. Laurijan

Laurijan

Thanks Received:
    HumanXJT says thanks.
  3. Homeless

Thanks Received:
    You are going to have to modify a number of voltages. VTT and MCH core to start. Then comes reference values and vcore again.

HumanXJT says thanks.
  4. kyle2020 Guest

5. HumanXJT New Member

Thanks Received:
    I'm now able to boot into windows with a 3.6Ghz after increasing the FSB, MCL and DDR2 voltages by 0.2. Unfortunately the overclock is not stable, for some reason when i increase the DDR2 voltages above normal i receive the "Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4" fatal error in Prime95 but without increasing the ddr2 voltages my computer won't even post. :confused:

6. Guru Janitor

Guru Janitor New Member

Thanks Received:
    I couldnt get my q6600 stable past 3.2 on any voltage no matter what I try.

Keep your ddr2 voltages the same, drop the speed a little on them though, see if it helps at all.

Whats your NB voltage at, for 3.2 I have myne at 1.35v, and my vcore at 1.31v for 3.2. Try your NB at like 1.39v and then if its stable work down from there to get the lowest voltage.

Hope this helps man.