1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need help pick my first water cooling loop

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by night.fox, Dec 5, 2013.

  1. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    it is removable... in manual it says as well... in manual, silverstone also suggested 240 rad on the bays sucking air from outside...
    my current mobo now has 2 pci x 1....

    im curious... why asking pci e 1?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    cause i saw it has 2 versions.
    newer is with one pciex1 removed but distance vetween top and mid pciex16 slots is unchanged so you still have one empty slot between your vga cards
    night.fox says thanks.
  3. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    oh ok.... actually planning to get 4770k with sniper 5 for my gaming build.... sniper 5 so it will give me also a chance to trifire or quadfire in the future... i know i know about x79 build but meh... x79 mobos are too old now. i need lots of sata connections for my planned raid connections....

    meaning if I do crossfire now, it has 2 slots distance. It should give enough distance for this hot 290's.....

    I will use my current rig as my mobile desktop... one I could carry all the time with me at work.... computers here at work are so slow.. so planning to keep this.... I am not rushing to get a water cooling build as if I sold my 7950's, then I could just bring one of my future 290. If I dont sell my 7950 then i will bring my 7950 instead.....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    and water cooling goes to ...?!
    sniper 5 or fatal1ty?
    also keep in mid that adding more vga cards will require more rads and may require 2nd case or outside block like phobya nova 1080.
    i still cant understand for what you need 3 or 4 cf

    anyway updated loop and partlist for your current config.
    wcpartlist.jpg


    part list doesnt include vga waterblocks which are out of stock atm and cant be added to cart. 2 blocks will add 270$ so frozen cpu stuff will cost total 693$
    for this setup you will need not 8 but 10 fans. everthing else is the same for sniper 5 mb you have to purchase cnt-vdb1 instead of cnt-vdb2 for connection of vga blocks

    wcloop.jpg
    color coding is the same as before
    teal-->water pumps+dual xspc top
    white arrows show airflow directions

    edit:
    forgot to mention fan on side panel 9at the back of the picute) that blow in fresh air to back of cpu
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2013
    night.fox says thanks.
  5. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea

    thank you very very very much ne6... i really appreciate your help and it makes my planning easier....

    although, unfortunately... bay reservior and 240 rad would not fit in the bays...

    So i will have to ditch the bay reservior and get the pump + reservior.... which would be inside the case....

    with your airflow, it would not create a vaccum inside the case? Oh well it wont of course there are still holes... oh i remember now negative pressure..... is that ok for a water cooling rig?

    edit: the water cooling loop will go to sniper 5 rig...
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    aha... after you mentioned the phobya NOVA,

    this inspires me [​IMG]

    this is much better solution for the case not optimized for water cooler.... nice nice.....

    now I just need to find right hose, fittings, pumps reservior and so on.......
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    they will fit
    you have one free 5.25" bay above removable dirve cages.

    silverstone-raven-rv03-hddbays.jpg

    price will blow out your inspiration :)
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1...a_1080_Full_Copper_Radiator_-_60mm.html#blank
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/1...ator_Box_-_Black_Powder_Coat_38282.html#blank

    edit:
    specialy for you: one water cooling opitimized case
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2013
  8. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    wait..... the frozen CPU links you posted was one with the housing and one with 3 x 360 rads right? all in all its about $350 including shipping..... but then good side was I have 3 x 360 rads in which it is also quad fire ready ^_^ am I correct?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    it is triple 360 rad (cant be separated or partially replaced) from 2 links i have posted you will get rad and housing. everything else till you get look from your photo has to be added separately (2 res, fittings, pump box at lower left i dont have idea what it is etc.)+water blocks and may be more pumps.
    why are you insist so much to waste money on 3-4fire. it is absolutely pointless unless you are doing gpu computing of any kind.
    night.fox says thanks.
  10. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    nah told that myself 2 years ago.... if you can see amd trend.... scaling on multi gpu is getting better... after software frame pacing, they have now harware frame pacing... in which it significally fix scaling issues....not going for quadfire now.... maybe in a year... when multi gpu scales so much better.... then atleast water cooling is ready... right?as other says, these water cooling can be kept for so long time in whcich could use in any rig.... ddr4 coming..... haswell e coming..... you know......... plus it looks neat this external rads.. dont you think?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    so it is all about rooster.
    but still 3-4fire is pointless. better spent those 1.2k you will pay for additional 2x290 and water blocks for 4k hd monitor so you can utilize the power of 2x290s you will have.
    externel rads are neat but require free space in home. in my home problems will be more then joy.
    night.fox says thanks.
  12. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea

    thanks ne6.... yes I know its pointless now. I figured that once I have quadfire setup, gives me option also to eyefinity 1600p ^_^. I saw Karlitos quadfire 290x and I was amazed how looks smooth his eyefinity 1440p with quadfire 290x. I am not saying I will go for that now.....

    Its just since its my first time building a water cooling loop, and seeing this external rads.... I figured why not go for it if only a few bucks difference and gives an option also to expand more in the future. By expand means adding gpu blocks and or another cpu block.

    I have a nice small room just for my rig. and the space is not really an issue.... (yet) lol....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    if your room is small enough you can save from heating in winter too.
  14. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea

    its not really small. ^_^. I have a 2 x 3 meter room. only for my rig.

    update: after reading about this.


    source: http://www.hardocp.com/article/2013/12/13/4_weeks_radeon_r9_290x_crossfire/4#.Uqujz8eDrGg

    I think I will pass for water cooling now.....

    its a very perfect since case we have is same.... and putting the 180mm fan on high setting does really help.....
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    OK OK.

    I have changed my mind. I'll do full water cooling.

    Please check my parts list if it is ok.

    [​IMG]

    and also, for the case, I will be getting a Haf Stacker 935 Case.

    Please also check if the flow is ok

    [​IMG]

    I will remove the drive bays and I will put in all in the Haf 915 case which I am planning to place in the bottom.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    you might have problems with sata&powercable lengnts if you put hdds in 915.
    take 2x360 rads. and mount em on side pannels of the 915. with fans blowing air out. add suction fans at front and back (or dont add fans at all). use comression fittings. they are more expencieve about same price as barb+clamps but with less chance for leaking and you can use 45deg or 90deg angles. check of res can be mounted horizontaly if not replace it with one that can. or consider bay res+pump setup
    i think you dont really need mb in loop. you have missed waterblock for it in basket.
    subtotal is coverd by tpu watermark.
    i am not sure if you will make it with one pump. use this http://martinsliquidlab.org/pump-planning-guide/ to calculate what pump power you need.
    you have only one ssd in yr rig or you will add hdds as well
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014
    night.fox says thanks.
  17. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    thanks ne6

    about the HDD's, actually I have a total of 5 HDD and 1 SSD. I just didnt put it in my system config.

    I thought about the length of sata cable and power cables. but actually the thing was, I will be using 2 PSU's cause I can feel that 1kW (the one im using now) is not sufficient. So I will use my other 750w PSU.

    My plan was, 750W will power up mobo, HDD, water cooling plus 1 290. So whenever I want to use my rig for normal use, the other 2 VGA will be only as standby. I am planning to do 1600p EF as well

    Concerning the MOBO waterblock, sniper 5 has a built in water block for the VRM. it is more like a hybrid type block but it is only for VRM

    i check the site for the water cooling pump, to be honest, its a bit complicated for me to understand. lol

    Ok so it would be better if I take a bay res?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    hmmmm. i am not sure this will work w/o restart everytime. http://powersupplycalculator.net/ calculate yr load power is 830W with 10 120mm fans 850w with 20w for pump and recommended supply is 1025w so 1000w should be enough. or if you add 2nd psu use it to power only loop and fans.

    you will need 2 pumps as min cause only 3 vga blocks have preasure drop= to ~75% of pump preasure. might be better if you go 35x instead of 655.


    i think it will be more compact solution. and mounting will be easyer too.

    edit:
    i dont think you will like this
    wc1.jpg
    buy clamps for barbs from local car shop. you dont need to pay for transport from us.
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014
    night.fox says thanks.
  19. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    802 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    south korea
    thanks. ok ill think the bay res and the dual pump is better.

    Wow compression fittings was almost same price.

    Question,

    there was a lot of bard and fittings you add in there. Can I ask where to put it?

    and also I saw there is a phobya 180 degree T block. Where should I place that one? I have no idea lol..
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    GMT +2
    t blocks and barbs are for parallel connection of the rads.
    your rads will be at the bottom of pc so if barbs leak it isnt possible to damage pc so you can use there barbs instead of more expensive compressions. phobya t blocks come with the barbs at the same price as other brands t blocks w/o fittings so i got more for same $.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page