1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help Pick'in out new MoBo and Proc.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fox34, Dec 9, 2006.

  1. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Alright, its kinda budget but what you gonna do. Anyway, I need a new mobo proc and pref heat sink because I dont want to use stock:shadedshu The budget is like 100-250. Kinda low but I'm just lookin for a 2.0 Athlon and any mobo with an nVidia chipset. I dont look for fancy heatsinks, just somethin to beat the stock. Apreciate!
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    so you want to get a new motherboard,cpu and heatsink right?
  3. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Yes sir
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    what socket?
  5. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
  7. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    wow that is a really good deal. One thing, is that boards RAM dual channel?

    btw, nice sound card and RAM :D
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    yeah its dual channel capable......but u gotta have matched pairs of ram i.e. 2x512 etc...u know what i mean:toast:
  9. ATIonion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,015 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103029

    super mobo there....clocks nice for just under $100...i went from asus at 2.5 to that abit 2.8 clocks...


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127225

    nice cpu for the $$$ ive seen real good clocks from reviews on this one...


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835185125

    pfffffffft....for that money no brainer....this is a real good cooler.....especially for the $$$$



    i have heard nothing good of tiger direct and also i hear that rebates suck with them
  10. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Yea ive seen those heatsinks around, like em alot. I like that stuff, looks nice. I was thinkin of orderin a DFI lanparty board cause they just seem so awesome :rockout: o and WTF is a shadow card?
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    i think shadow cards are made for sli board when u arent running SLI.....you put it in the other slot that is unused when not using sLI
  12. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    i do see, SLI would be so sweet
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    yeah i want to run it but it wont be for awhile............i need another 7600GT and a new board:toast:
  14. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    uhhh that will be so nice!
  15. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    kool so if you get a sli board are you gonna wait to get two cards or are you gonna buy them at the same time?
  16. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    I'm prob, gonna get the board save back up then get the cards
  17. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    i got a 6500 pcix you can have if u need a card till then
  18. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    wow that would basically be very very helpfull
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    but then again you should be able to use your current pci card to...
  20. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    bah your right :) thanks for the offer though
  21. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    the only advatage of the 6500 is 1 more vertex shader...not much at all when ur just browsing the web...:toast:
  22. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    I basically just game on mine CS=CZ:toast:
  23. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    then it might help not sure..........pci to pcix
  24. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    yea that would def help. My cards Def a little "outdated" lol never really bought a new one, this thing runs all my games max frames, well untill i got quake 4.....
  25. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    yeah dude Quake 4 is a really intense game.....

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page