1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help to overclock Q9550 with Asus P5E Deluxe

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by akash_libra, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. akash_libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I never overclocked my PC. I am doing it first time. Can anybody please help me to overclock it, which configurations I need .
    My system specs are as follows:
    Asus P5E Deluxe motherboard
    intel core to quad Q9550, 2.83GHz
    Ram 8GB PC2-6400, 800MHz
    graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM v1.1)

    Can anybody plz help me which changings I need in bios.

    Thanks
     
  2. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    481 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Arcadia
    first thing dont use stock cooler xd
     
    akash_libra says thanks.
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    depends how high your going. for 3.4ghz 400 x 8.5 i use 1.15v on cpu 1.2 nb and 1.17 vtt
     
    JrRacinFan and akash_libra say thanks.
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    First thing you should do is read this, overclocking guide second thing you need to do is get a better cooling solution stock cooling is ok but only meant for stock speeds. Once you have done this then get back to us. Thing is every system is different and every over clock is as well.
     
    akash_libra says thanks.
  5. akash_libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got Fan

    Hi,
    First of all thanks for replying.
    I have got this fan
    ASUS Lion Square CPU Cooler / Fan / Heatsink - Quad-Core overclocking!!

    Is this OK for overclocking

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    yes
     
    akash_libra says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. akash_libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got Fan

    Hi,
    First of all thanks for replying.
    I have got this fan
    ASUS Lion Square CPU Cooler / Fan / Heatsink - Quad-Core overclocking!!

    Is this OK for overclocking
     
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    I already answered this question. Yes that heatsink is ok for OC'ing.
     
    akash_libra says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. akash_libra New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Thanks for your quick reply. Can you please tell me which changing I need in BIOS, according to motherboard and processor which I got. I want to go as high as I can.

    Thanks
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    As quite a few Q9550's differ, start with using AthlonX2's suggestion as a base (that's actually a very good base might I add) and you can either tweak voltages or keep it there and see how much further of an fsb you can get.
     
  11. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    like Jr said, not all Q9550 are the same. What settings may work for one Q9550, may not work for another Q9550. It would be best for you to read though the guide that trickson posted a link to before you actually try to OC your computer.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    you can go the old fashioned route and bump the fsb by 2's go into windows run 10 passes of IBT until it fails and then add more cpu volts. you shouldnt need nb volts until you get over ~370
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page