1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help to remove Nvidia remnants after installing ATI

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Black Panther, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,576 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    So this is my first ATI card. I removed the nvidia driver, ran driver cleaner pro in safe mode.

    However in my Program List in the Control Panel I have these 3 items I cannot remove:

    -Nvidia Performance
    -Nvidia Physx
    -Nvidia System monitor

    Whenever I try I get the message "This software requires an Nvidia device to operate" and the uninstall gets aborted.
    I can't uninstall them in Safe Mode because they require the Windows Installer service to run.

    Any clue?
     
  2. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    +1 tigr! i love driver sweeper. its fast and it removes it all
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,576 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Sorry I forgot to say that I ran Driver Sweeper as well in my first post.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,586 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    and that didnt remove the driver? hmmm this sounds more hardware related. have you tried this ATI card in another PC?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Do you still have the nVidia card physically installed?
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,576 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Brandon, those programs aren't the driver.... Even I forgot what they were (except for Physx of course) I think they were some monitoring programs.

    Tigr, no I have only one pci-e card..

    Here's what I'm speaking of:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Just to clarify: your old card is nVidia PCI Express and your new card is an ATI PCI Express, right? I'm wondering if you still have the nVidia card installed (physically). If so, I'd suggest re-installing the drivers for it, then rebooting, uninstalling everything in the Control Panel, then rebooting in safe mode and running Driver Sweeper. Then shut down and physically install the ATI card and install drivers. Should work fine unless I'm misunderstanding something.
     
    Black Panther says thanks.
  9. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,576 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    Thanks I'll try that. I have the 8800GT (sitting on the desk) and the 5970 inside the pc.
     
  10. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    Try to remove ALL Nvidia programs in your system, not only drivers.

    if that's not work too, reinstall your OS, that's your final solution.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    you're gunna have to install the nvidia card to uninstall the software.


    as for drivercleaner and such, you DO NOT need to do that in vista/7.
     
  12. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    I'm using THIS for cleaning drivers remnant and programs in Windows Vista / 7
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    its simply not needed.

    Unlike XP, vista can only load one video driver at a time - so there is zero chance of conflicts.

    7 can load multiple drivers at the same time, but doesnt seem to mind - i've ran ATI + nvidia cards in the same machine without any conflicts at all. And if the card work fine, drivers without cards will too
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page