1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help upgrading a Dell

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by dstaiti, May 29, 2007.

  1. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I just built a powerful new gaming PC, thanks in no small part to help I got on this forum!:toast:

    NOW, I'd like to move my old PC to my vacation house. I'd like to upgrade it so I can play fairly new games. My current PC is a Dimension 5150/E510. The specs are:

    Intel Pentium 4 Processor 630 with HT Technology (3.0 GHz)
    2GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz
    128MB ATI Hyper Memory PCI-Express X16 (DVI/VGA/TV out) Radeon X300 SE
    305w power supply

    I'm not terribly worried about budget, other then I'd like to keep it cheaper then just buying an all new system.
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    HEY we have that system, except with 1gb of ram, and integrated graphics. personally, i would suggest getting a new videocard, and probably a new psu to power that. (18 amps and the 12v line is not good)
  3. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Interesting... when I bought it, I went with the lowest possible upgradable card to avoid having the integrated card, and I added the extra gig bcs it was cheap and I figured would give me a performance boost.

    I looked on Dell's site, and while there is a lot of information on there, finding out what you can upgrade too is tough. I thought about adding an x1600 or x1950, but I think both require 350-400w power.

    I need help/advice on what I need to upgrade, but how it relates to cooling issues. The case is small and I'm sure will run hot with a lot of extra power and bigger GPU...
  4. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    the case it's really that bad. it is a btx design...so it does have a fairly good airflow desgin. do you want to change out psu's or are you against that? if so...that opens alot more possibilites.
  5. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Id suggest getting a low 7600, not because I personally own it, but It runs on a lower PSU than most, and does not require any 6 pin plug. It still although plays oblivion, which is an incredbly demanding game.
  6. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I would upgrade the power supply, but I wouldn't know how to find out how big I could go before I'd run into volume and heat issues. Assuming I'm willing to upgrade the PSU and graphics card, what could I go with that will maximize performance? Also, should I be concerned that my CPU will become a bottleneck for an improved video card?
  7. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    How I see it, since you got the pre-built, it seems like your droppig alot of money into your card and PSU, you should just get a new system so you dont have a locked BIOS. If you dont want to, your PSU is not that much of a performence issue until you get into a high end graphics card, a low 7 series will give you the performence I think your looking for, and a PSU, get a 450 or 480 decent PSU.
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    i agree with fox and i had a 400w and used my x1600xt with 17amps on the +12 so i think the x16xx cards or the nvidia 7 series depending on what company you like should work fine with that psu as long as it isnt a 7900
  9. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Yea, your basically looking for a card without the 6 pin and you are basicall set with a 400. I ran my 7600 with 16 AMPS my manual said I should have at least 20 but I ran oblivion, just make sure you dont need the 6 pin and you wont need to worry really about the PSU all that much.
  10. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Can either of you recommend a specific PSU and card combination? The computer I just built has an 8800GTX which is fantastic, but I don't have a preference for either company per se.
  11. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Well, before we suggest what budget are you looking at?
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    well id go with a 450-500w psu with from 19-25amps on the +12v rail and i got my 8600gt really!!!! cheap but if you dont want to go that high their is an amazing deal on the 1900's or get yourself a nice 7800 or a 7900 the deal on the 1950's is damn good too.
  13. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Yea, solaris's 8600 would be a perfect match for that system it seems like your goin for. The quality of the PSU will vary the AMPS acordingly to the watts. So get a decent 480-500 and get either a 8600, 7950,x1650 or x1950
  14. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    OK - sorry for my nievity, but do I need a specific PSU for my case? ATX vs. BTX vs. EPS??? If you can send a link on newegg for a specific one, that would be lovely. Same for the video card.
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Dstaiti, I hate to be really really biased, I suggest lookin into the same PSU and vid card in my specs. 7600GS and a cheap @Power 550W. My system runs perfect and stable, but then again none of my system is really power hungry.
  16. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  17. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  18. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    do i need a BTX PSU?
  19. dstaiti New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Help!!!

    I'd like to order my PSU and video card this weekend... any suggestions or new recommendations??? I'm a little confused in particular on the PSU and if it will fit and/or be sufficient to power the card I want.
  20. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Ok, the card is mine! yay!:toast: The card will run oblivion so your are definetly setfor a while with that card, and its the 512 compared to my 256, so you will get even better FPS. The PSU though, see how theres 2 +12 rails, on the side of the PSU (the sticker) it says +12 1 and +12 2. The AMPS(number under the Rail) says 18 and 15, thats a little low, dual rail is overater IMO, get a single 12 rail PSU with like 20-25 amps. and Your case is probally ATX, BTX is funny looking.
  21. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,153 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,545
    Location:
    Florida
    i would suggest my psu 500w stable 32amps on the +12 and powers everything in my rig no problem and its modular and on top of that relativ3ely cheap..Ultra X-connect modular 500w google it im not sure its on newegg but im pretty sure you can get the other variations realatively cheap also.


    EDIT::: just looked on newegg no ultra's but i found this its flashy and nice cheap and has everything u need for a while take a look
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  22. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    I would def. second Solaris's PSU, Ive seen it, it looks incredibly nice for the modders:toast: and the amps on the 12 are so high its kinda like a mutant PSU. High performance, looks great and cheap. Good buy.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page