1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Help: Want To Build New Intel Based Computer w/out Issues

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by CyberCT, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I need to build a new computer, and want to based on a the best bang for the buck Intel processor 32nm process. I have not build a PC in a few years and with my limited knowledge of trying to keep up, I need some expert help.

    My current PC that I'm selling to family is as follows:

    [CPU] INTEL E8500 3.16GHz @ 4.01GHz; FSB @ 420MHz
    [CPU Cooler] OCZ Vendetta 2
    [RAM] OCZ Reaper HPC 2GB DDR2 1150 (PC2 9200) @ 1,006MHz
    [Mobo] ASUS Maximus II Formula P45
    [GPU] eVGA GTX 580
    [PSU] Corsair CMPSU-650TX
    [HDD] Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10k RPM
    [Case] Antec Three Hundred
    [Monitor] Samsung 2343BWX 2048x1152

    I will be keeping the GTX 580 for my next build.

    I have heard that there is a problem with Intel's newest chipset where transistors on the motherboard socket burn out. Has this issue been resolved? I want a quad core processor minimum which is new, and hopefully this issue has been ironed out.

    I also will be running Windows 7 32 bit, so I'm looking at having 2 gb RAM DDR3. What is the most efficient DDR3 ram 2GB in the lowest nm process? With 2GB system RAM, and 1.5GB video card RAM, that leaves .5 GB RAM for other system IRQ & misc uses. This seems to be the best setup for my needs.

    Can you please direct me to the best motherboard, CPU, and RAM that fits my needs above?
     
  2. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,556 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    500mb and system IRQ ?!
    Burn out sockets?!
    32bit OS for a new Computer ?!

    There is a lot of information posted on main page of TPU. Id suggest you read the last 2 months of it (news and comments for them) and you will be up to date. There is no sense of retyping news posts from main page to forums as they are already there in the News section.
     
  3. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please be more specific. The "New Build Thread" is outdated by a few years. I was hoping for a more precise response from members that are very up to date with the current technology that meets my needs.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,772 (12.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,681
    What are your needs? I assume you are gaming since you use a GTX 580? If you are gaming, there's not way you should be using only 2gb of RAM. 4gb at least. Right now, finding a new Intel 1155 chipset is pretty slim due to them all being recalled. You may just want to look into a socket 1366 system.
     
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Why 32-bit Windows? What's holding you back from using 64-bit? Nowadays, you pretty much need a 64-bit OS to support a decent amount of RAM and such. Some new ram-intensive games will be stuttering like a mofo with only 2GB of RAM available. If you're so concerned about getting the latest, smallest fabrication process CPU, RAM and such, why hold your new PC back by using solely a 32-bit OS?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well my current build is over a few years old now and while I have tried to keep a little up to date with CPU / motherboard tech, I'm not quite up to snuff as I'd like to be.

    A few years ago I have read 64 bit OS had compatibility issues with games. Yes, I do like to game and I will be using Nvidia 3D vision with my new build, like I have with my old build. I will also be using my PC for web browsing and music too, but that's pretty much it. No CPU only intensive programs, like compling, folding at home, etc.

    If Windows 7 home 64-bit is very friendly with all or nearly all directX 9 games and above, that would be great and maybe I should make that jump. From monitoring my current setup, I have not found any combination of games and programs that have taxed my system RAM up to the 2GB so I figured I didn't need any more. Maybe I'm wrong somehow, IDK.

    After building this new setup, I will not build another one for about 3 years which is my projection. That's why I want the latest and greatest (32nm CPU process) to overclock and hold me over.

    Can I get by with the current 45nm process Intel CPUs and overclock them fine? What's everyone's thoughts?

    And when will the 1155 chipset be fixed and widely available? In about a month or more?
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  7. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,556 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Right now its 1155 as already stated but there was a mobo bug so now while waiting for new boards everybody also waits what AMD will bring.
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wait just a little bit longer. 64bit, especially windows 7, has now become the norm for gaming pc's. I will state that now ~90% of pc gamers use vista or windows 7 64 bit.
     
  9. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    894 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    You cannot currently purchase a motherboard for an Intel Sandy Bridge CPU. They were recalled so that a defect in the Southbridge chip could be fixed. They will be available again in a month or two. Running 7 64 bit with 4gb of RAM is what you will likely want to do. There is no reason to fear change. :)
     
  10. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Wait for the SB mb's...my present gamer:

    Biostar TP67B+ mb
    Intel 2600K cpu
    Sapphire 5970

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    CyberCT if you itchin for a new build, i would also suggest waiting for Sandy Bridge to come back out.

    as a thought, my build is very similiar to yours, and im waiting on ivy bridge before i do another build.
     
  12. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    482 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    Keep your cool till the new 1155 boards come out or better yet wait and see what AMD has to offer in a couple of months. 64bit OS is pretty much a norm these days and 4 gigs of fast ram will be sufficiant.
     
  13. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm probably going to buy the 2600k CPU, but of course I will be using the GTX580 as my graphics platform instead of Intel's onboard CPU GPU. Can I simply disable the Intel GPU in BIOS and only have my GTX580 working in my system, or is the Intel GPU not disableable and works in conjunction with the GTX580?
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    As far as I know, with P67 Rev B3, you will not have an option for the IGP. If you opt for Z6X or H6X Chipsets, you may need to disable them although most boards auto post add-on dedicated cards. Just a reminder, from last we all heard, H6X will not have any type of overclocking available.
     
  15. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    if you want to overclock that wont be an issue. you can only overclock sandy bridge cpus on P67 or Z68 chipsets(Z68 isnt even out yet), and those chipsets do not support the integrated GPU. H67, which does support the gpu, you cna not over clock with(not really anyway)
     
  16. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    By does not support the integrated GPU, do you mean

    (1) the 2600K will work with the P67 chipset based motherboard but just the integrated GPU won't work;
    or
    (2) The 2600K won't work on the P67 chipset based motherboard at all because the CPU has an integrated GPU
     
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Option 1.

    @ Nailezs

    Z6X has integrated GPU options.
     
    Nailezs says thanks.
  18. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    thx, wikipedia wasnt clea ron that in the article i was looking at
     
  19. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It stinks I won't be able to use this on the Rampage III Formula which is socket 1366. I have the Rampage II Formula now and love the motherboard for overclocking and diagnostics.

    I can't find any socket 1155 motherboards, only 1156 motherboards on newegg. Are they the same? Things have changed a lot since I built my last PC and I'm still trying to grasp all of it. It's been socket 775 for a loooong time and now all these new sockets and changes in such a short amount of time.

    Can someone recommend to me an excellent enthusiest board for overclocking, readouts, and flexibility similar to the Rampage III Formula? I would of couse be using the CPU 2600K.
     
  20. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    no, they are not the same, the sockets are different and not compatible. all 1155 boards have been pulled due to the sata issue and will not be availavle until early june from the last thing i read on it.

    if you're going to go 1155 (which is the socket of the cpu you've pcked out) your gonna have to wait until it becomes available again, or find a used one(not likely)


    to quote erocker:
    so, if you have to build a new system now, go for 1366. if you can wait for a few months, go with 1155(1366 vs 1155 is debateable). if u can wait till the end of the year, go with bulldozer or ivy bridge(lga 2011). like i said earlier, my system is very similiar to yours and im opting to wait for ivy bridge.

    EDIT: yeah, i've edited this thing 4 times, so...
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  21. Spectrum

    Spectrum New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    473 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    i7-2600k is what you want as a processor... very fast and very cheap for an intel processor.
    Just get an asus mobo, I hear they aren't affected by the sataII issue.
     
  22. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Where did you hear that? I'm interested in the Asus Maximus IV Extreme and 2600K. It's not available on newegg because the problems are still present?
     
  23. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    all p/h67 boards were affected
     
  24. CyberCT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is socket 1366 going to get updated processors in the future, or will any new processor get a new socket, making purchasing a socket 1366 based motherboard obsolete for an upgraded future CPU?
     
  25. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    ivy bridge(lga/socket 2011) will replace 1366. its supposed to come out late this year or early next year.

    1155 replaced 1156
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page