1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with a 7B STOP error BSOD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Darknova, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Ok, I wanted to reinstall my graphics drivers. So using the ATI install manager I express uninstalled everything. Rebooted, and now I'm stuck with a 7B STOP error BSOD on every boot. Safe mode or normal boot, doesn't matter, same error.

    I've done some googling and it seems to relate to the boot devices. I can only assume that the ATI install manager stupidly uninstalled my RAID driver.

    Unfortunately, all the information I can find relates to installs and upgrades, and to AHCI and I can't find anything to tell me how to fix this.

    So I need help to try and fix this. I do not want to have to reinstall...
     
  2. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Stop 7b "generally" indicates a hardware failure

    I would suspect a HDD
     
  3. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Checked them both mate. No problems with the RAID array at all.

    I can access the array via the Server 2008 repair console and all the data is there.
     
  4. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Could be a controller driver issue.

    7B is almost always HDD related weather it is drivers or the controller/drives etc...
     
  5. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well I've decided to reinstall. I manually put the drivers back, and still doesn't work. So meh. Just copying my stuff off now.
     
  6. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    reloading really is the only option. But you still need to figure out if its the hdd or the controller
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page