1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with a pencil mod.

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Cja123, Oct 14, 2008.

1. Cja123

Thanks Received:
    Hello, I am relatively new to this board and was wondering if I could get some help with a pencil mod. I have little knowledge of the procedure but understand you must shade a resistor in order to solve a v droop problem.

Well I have an EVGA 780i SLI mother board and I think I know where the resistors I am looking to mod are. I don't know what to do in the next step. I know you must have a 2B/4B pencil (Have no clue what the numbers mean or where to get a 2B or 4B pencil) and I think you have to shade it 2 to 3 times back and forth. Anyways I'm pretty ignorant of what I need to do and could use some help. It's killing me to have a Q6600 (SALCR) and have v droop so bad that I have to set CPU voltage to 1.58v to be stable at 3.6ghz.

Once again any help would be appreciated.

2. Mussels

Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    thats pretty much it. you shade over it until the vdroop goes away.

FYI, dont make it go ENTIRELY away. A little bit of vdroop is a good thing for the safety of the hardware according to an article i read a while back.

(if you set 1.45v and it runs at 1.435v... whatever. its close enough)

3. Cja123

Thanks Received:
    Alright do I need any special type of pencil? and do I need any other equipment?

4. Mussels

Thanks Received:
    you need a 2B pencil as you said in the first post.

A way to measure the voltage would be good, i just sat my lan rig in the BIOS and watched the CPU voltage as i stroked the resistor, and then put some tape over it when i was done.

5. Cja123

Thanks Received: