1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with AM3+ mobo, cpu, and memory

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sicksynergy, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So I'm kind of new to the high end computer scene but I'm building a computer and I've read the reviews but I thought I'd take the time to see from a forum. Here is my following build and I've heard problems with the new amd crosshair v forumla with the am3+ comparability, the ram sockets, bios (i don't know what that is but people talk about it all the time...) and different cpus not working.

    mobo: ASUS Crosshair V Formula AM3+ AMD 990FX
    CPU: AMD FX-8150 Zambezi 3.6GHz (3.9GHz/4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+
    Memory: Kingston HyperX T1 Black Series 4gb X2
    GPU: Radeon 7970 X2


    I was about to purchase this set up from what I read and what friends have told me who built computers before. But this will be the first time actually building it myself and from what I've been reading the board is a hit or miss. Also I was reading that people have had their cpus die from the board? I really don't wanna toss out $1000+ on a, what seems to be good, computer. If any of this is true what other boards would be a good substitute?
  2. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    243 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    New York
    If I were you I would probably ditch the 8150 and go for a Intel i5 2500k or similiar. As far as a motherboard I would go for one with a Z77 or P67 chipset if you are on a budget. The BIOS (basic input-output system) basically allows you to configure hardware, set boot devices etc. Most newer motherboards have EFI BIOS which have a graphical interface and more options.
  3. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what are your reasonings for ditching the 8150? It seems to have a higher clock rate that matches the i7x's. and I saw the Sabertooth Z77s and it seems like it's just an older model of the new one?

    I'm not really on a budget, I mean going $3k on a computer is a bit much but I have enough room for $2-2.5k if I could choose I'd go with the new Intel 7s but they're just way over priced from what it seems. over 1k for a chip that I can get from amd that does the same, if not better performance wise?


    So what's with the new EFI BIOS? are there problems since it's newer? or do people like me buy these computers and just lack understanding of it's functions and put bad reviews?
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    For multi GPU systems, you definitely want to go with a Z77 chipset and a 3570K or 3770K CPU. I've run CrossFire on AMD's CPU's (965BE, 1100T, 8150) and the performance just isn't there as it should be.

    That being said, perhaps you should start off with just one 7970, see how things go and get a 2nd a little later. You didn't mention your monitor/resolution or if you're using multiple monitors. A good PSU is going to be a must as well. What is your budget?


    Here's some parts I'd recommend for a solid gaming build:

    Intel i5 3570K: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turb...
    Gigabyte G1 Sniper 3 Motherboard: GIGABYTE G1.Sniper 3 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA ...
    Silverstone 1000W PSU: SILVERSTONE ST1000-P 1000W ATX 12V v2.3 & EPS 12V ...
    8gb G.SKill 2133Mhz RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR...

    Add in the video card(s), case and HDD's/SSD's
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  5. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    243 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    New York
    Clock rates are not the only thing that matter. You really need to look at a few benchmarks to see which processor is better. The new AMD processors are not really all that great compared to Intel's. Their is not really anything wrong with regular BIOS, EFI is just a bit nicer looking, and easier to use in some cases.
  6. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    I will be running 4 monitors. I'm a trader so multiple monitors is a must. I need a high performing computer when I decide to up the monitors to 6. Not all of them need to be super high definition, 720p probably is going to be what I'll be running on each.

    My "budget" is around $2500. I just don't want to seem like a dick to friends when they come by and see a $2500 computer when there is nothing I really do that needs to be that extreme. On my free time I would like to play games like D3, League of Legends, Mass Effect, etc on highest graphics settings while still running a few trade windows, charts, videos on other monitors. When not doing any gaming I just watch TV and movies from my computer too via slingbox on my bed...

    so yeah any set up that you guys would think can handle this without much of a problem, please let me know. I know intel is much more reliable, but I've just heard that amd is/was a much better bang for your buck.
  7. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    243 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    New York
    If you have that much to spend on a computer you definitely do not want to be held back by the 8150 :)

    As far as reliability, I wouldn't really say Intel is more reliable, AMD just hasn't been putting up much as far as competition for them. My knowledge is not completely up to date as far as best performance/buck so I will leave the parts selection to someone else.
    sicksynergy says thanks.
  8. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    held back by the 8150 :eek:
    what about the I7 3930k ??

    I have always been a fan of Radeon GPUs. Since the 9800pro I never chose a different card.
    So I know I want to run at least 2x 7870s or 7970 but from what I've seen there's nothing out there right now that needs a 7970 so imo having one is pretty pointless and a waste of money?
  9. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Asus Rampage IV

    With an Intel Processor but can anyone tell me the main differences between the
    I5-3570
    I7-3820
    I7-2700
    I7-3930

    I know it sounds a bit stupid of me for asking this but a general overview of these processors and their differences would be perfectly fine. I just see different clock speeds and different generations...
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    You will need the 7970 for the four monitor output. I wouldn't bother with two of them due to some issues with CrossFire and multi monitor setups. Also as far as "bang for your buck" it's the 3570K. Unfortunately you don't really get a very good bank for your buck with AMD due to price/performance.

    So, the parts I listed above plus a 7970 should do the trick.

    It's probably best to google reviews for them. The i7 3820,3930 are Sandy Bridge -E chips (2nd generation), the i7 2700 is a Sandy Bridge chip (2nd gen) and the 3570k is an Ivy Bridge chip (3rd gen). For what you are doing the Ivy Bridge lineup would be the winner.
    The Rampage IV is a skt 2011 motherboard for SB-E.

    I forgot to ask, are you doing any overclocking with this setup?
    sicksynergy says thanks.
  11. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    alright and if I decide to need another 2 monitors and I grab another GPU will there still be problems arising if it's a 7870 or 7970? Or can I just not activate crossfire to avoid this problem?
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    I'm quite sure you can not have the cards in CrossFire and use the video outputs on them. As long as you're using Windows 7, which I assume you are.
  13. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Overclocking would be fun haha I know I will be trying it
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    Then you'll want a good air cooler... Or better yet, a sealed water cooler would be good. I actually find mounting those can be easier than mounting an air cooler, plus they work great.

    Something like this: CORSAIR H80 (CWCH80) High Performance Liquid CPU C...

    ...can mount in just about any case.
    sicksynergy says thanks.
  15. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    is a 1000w power supply necessary? I calculated it and it only needs like 450W. Wouldn't a 650 suffice?
  16. jaredudu

    jaredudu

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    243 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    New York
    If you are going with a single 7970 and the 3570k you would probably be able to get away with 650 no problem, but you would be best off with 750-1000 (especially if you plan on overclocking) so the power supply is not running near full load.
    sicksynergy says thanks.
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    901
    jaredudu is exaggering, the FX 8150 will not hold you back. However I do agree Sandybridge or Ivy is the better solution for you, and with your budget you can afford the fastest.

    No you don't need 1000w PSU. You just need a good brand with atleast 30A 12v per rail.

    Also look out for effiency stamps i.e. 80 Plus Certified etc.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  18. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    207 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    for the processor the MB you have dictates which processor you should use.
    i would suggest the 2 gtx670 because its multi-monitor power comsumption is better than amd... (amd probably has a better overall multi-monitor solution)
    or two 7870's... (which ever makes less noise...)

    for a silent computer...for a power supply, and you will not overclock, 460 seasonic passive power supply could work. using furmark and prime95 with an 8150(125watts) and two 7850's (2x144watts) will burn at about 460 watt NO overclocking.
    i am assuming that this a 24/7 trading computer... (thus no overclock) if you are using 24/7=3.6 hours a day(LOL).. then I would suggest the standard gaming stuff (2500k, 2x670 or 2x7950, 750 watt psu)
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  19. sicksynergy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well weekends I wouldn't be trading for the most part. So standard friday night, saturday afternoons, etc. But on my free time I would like to have something with some power. I don't trade 24/7 haha if I did I wouldn't have time for any of this really. Is there a median between these two? Or would it be better to get one 7970 as a main monitor or two and have the other 2 gtx670s for the 4 trading monitors?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page