1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with cheap gaming cpu

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ERazer, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im trying build a gaming rig with my spare parts so i dont have to turn off WCG on my quads to play games. So i need help with cheap cpu under 100 or 150$ that OC really well.

    parts:

    xfx 680i lt
    samsung 500g 7200.11
    500watt ultra
    2g crucial balistix
    gonna use my 4870
    ill use some part on my quads if needed be (see system info)

    -ty advance
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,907
    E7500 should be fine. They go for around $115.. *If a 680i chipset can do 45nm CPU's..
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,658 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,834
    It can do 45nm Duals, but not Quads. I second the E7500 would be a good choice, the E6300 would be a good also for a little cheaper. If you really wanted to go cheap, I've been playing with an E3200, and it has really surprised me performance wise. I've got it at 3.6GHz(400x9) right now using the stock cooler and performance is impressive. It has handled every game I've thrown at it without issue paired with my HD4890. The graphics card has been the limitting factor in all the games where it mattered(AKA that don't get over 100FPS on max settings).
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Im ganna throw low on you and recommend a e5200. That 680i probable cant handle realy high fsb speeds. Hey anything with 3-4mb cache and can overclock a tiddle widdle is good. But i can 1920x1080 crysis warhead with 2 Hd 4870s on ultra high with a e5200 at 4.0-4.1 Ghz at 45+ fps ;D. sometimes it drops to 30,s. Sometimes i do wish i had a high cache proc so i can enjoy more performance per Mhz then you do with e6000 series and below. :toast:
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,658 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,834
    I think you would be surprised, it won't hit 500FSB, but 400FSB with a dual-core is certainly realistic. When I had my 680i it ran all day at 400FSB with an E6600. It wouldn't budge past 300 with a qaud though...

    400FSB on an E7500 would be 4.4GHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Good to know :D
  7. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    thx guys

    is e5300 any good?
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,658 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,834
    Yes, the E5300 is good. The only reason I would have against it is that the older versions of it lacked VT, so you wouldn't be able to use Windows XP Mode or the new Virtual PC that comes with Windows 7(if you don't plan to use these, then it is no big deal). There is a new version out that does support VT, but it is a guessing game if you will get one of the old or one of the new.
    ERazer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    nice to know that, this rig gonna be mainly for gaming, got my other rigs if VT is needed
  10. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    microcenter got $69 for e5300 and $99 fro e8200 ahh dont really wanna spend alot money :banghead:
  11. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    That e8200 would be awesome.

    The E2/E3 series chips (I'm assuming the E3's are just OC'd E2s) are great if you can get a decent overclock. I hate trying to play garry's mod or anything else that has a lot of separate objects moving around. (Wolfenstein)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page