1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with CrossFire issues.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by FreedomEclipse, Jan 1, 2012.

  1. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    this is more a rant out of frustration then anything else. you can read it if you like or you can just hit backspace on your keyboard.....

    --------------------
    Ive owned 2 6970s for the better part of 5months. Ive not had much problems with it at all. that was until just recently....

    BF3 drivers have been pretty poor at best, anything after cat 11.9's just caused my game to CTD either while loading into a game or right in the middle of a game and it wasnt until 11.12's that they finally started to behave.

    But on a related note. anything after cat 11.9's broke the ARMA II crossfire profile. Expansions like Operation Arrowhead would work perfectly fine.

    I suffered a serious amount of ghosting and 'artifacting' where Id see loads of spikes on screen but the spikes were ghosting and i could still see what was going on behind that but it would make playing the game a lot worse when nightvision was turned on....

    ANYWAY I finally found a way to fix it by manually disabling crossfire whenever i loaded into ARMA II, but then my game would suffer from really really bad stuttering and game play wouldnt be smooth.

    HOWEVER this was fixed with Cat 11.11, I was using 11.11c until last night when I started getting atikmpag.sys BSOD's like a motherf**ker when trying to load into ARMA II.

    sometimes id load in fine, then other times it would BSOD or force my system to crash and restart (which is the same as a BSOD anyway) I must of had the same fricking BSOD about 10times while trying to play ARMA II yesterday. So I updated the drivers to 12.1 previews hoping that it would stop the BSODs. BUT IT DID NOTHING Im still having random BSODs when trying to load into a server. I tried to make use of the 3D profiling to disable crossfire when i play ARMA II but it just BSODs whenever I try to play the game.

    Ive been patient, too patient if you ask me, but i am getting sick of this Bullsh!t and another bad thing is all these BSODs could corrupt the data on my SSD.

    I dont know what to do. Either I sell off one of the cards and run with one 6970 or I sell of both and set myself up with SLI'd 570's or 580's because Im am sick of these bullshit drivers that dont seem to f**king work. Cat 11.9's never made my pc BSOD when loading into ARMA II!!! thats the funny thing about these new drivers!!!

    Bad BF3 & Skyrim drivers and now this bull crap.
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    AMD's drivers always suck hence the reason im on nvidia.
     
  3. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    Follow me. ;) :cool:
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,976 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,631
    Asus as of that time for motherboards sucked anyway, I switched to a MSI board and problem solved
     
    Zubasa says thanks.
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Did you remember to manually redownload and install the new Crossfire profiles after the driver update?
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  6. OOZMAN

    OOZMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    160 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Tell me why your system specs say a duron system! Now! You can't avoid me forever! :rolleyes:
     
  7. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,802 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    its a trap!
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Generalizing means nothing. People have problems with both AMD and Nvidia drivers. Deal with it.

    I've had X-fire systems for years and have never had a problem


    [​IMG]
     
    Damn_Smooth, digibucc and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  9. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    just because you never had problem doesnt mean no one else can,if he is having issues and is frustrated, i would encourage him to try nvidia as i always had the same issues with amd card and nvidia is much better for me.
     
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    I am yet to encounter any problems with Nvidia drivers, and I still have a Vista machine with an HD 4870 (but not in use; it's supposed to be with my sister already but they don't have space at their house for another computer). I only stopped encountering problems with AMD drivers...after I stopped using them. :laugh: They're still at 10.1 iirc. :laugh:
     
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    yeah, Running 11.12 caps. With the 7970 out. I will wait and see if Nvidia lowers the price on their cards and see if i can jump ship.
     
  12. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,047 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    And I've never had problems with AMD/ATI drivers. So, what's your point?

    Look, all I'm trying to say is that it happens to both companies, that's all.

    I hope you figure it out FreedomEclipse.
     
    INSTG8R and digibucc say thanks.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    how do you even know these are driver crashes? sounds to me like system instability, you are OC'd heavily. the driver can show as the error code in BSOD's just because thats what the system was working on when it crashed, doesnt mean its the cause.


    cant speak for ARMA, but BF3 and skyrim run great for me in crossfire, and have for a few drivers now.
     
    digibucc and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Because it doesnt crash in ANY OTHER GAME apart from ARMA II. IT WORKS PERFECTLY ON OPERATION ARROWHEAD I can unload and load into servers allday like a boss and not BSOD

    I can play a 6-8hour marathon of BF3 or BC2 and only crash because my router decided to hiccup but thats more of a CTD and not a BSOD. I rarely CTD in BF3 for no reason at all anymore since i guessed they managed to fix it. no other game makes me BSOD, its only with ARMA II.


    :EDIT:

    Oh and as i stated in my first post, It only just started happening when i went from Cat 11.9's to 11.12's & 12.1's - Driver related no?


    ::EDIT 2::

    And if it seems like im shouting - Im really screaming blue murder. (not trying to be rude - I know you guys are trying to help)

    as dave chappelle once said "NO I CANT STOP SHOUTIN' CUZ THATS THE WAY I TALK!! Drink bitch!!! :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2012
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    CTD's are still a crash. just because arma triggers a BSOD and not a CTD doesnt rule out anything.


    and if you're going by the 'it cant be broken, it was working before' logic... well its kinda flawed. OC's go unstable over time, hardware fails. just because you changed drivers is no reason to skip the diagnosis stage and blame drivers instantly
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  16. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Actually he said, "NO! THIS IS THE WAY I TALK! HAVEN'T YOU SEEN ANY OF MY MOVIES!"
     
    Mussels and FreedomEclipse say thanks.
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    In BF3 Losing connection while gaming on a server causes a CTD = Normal as BF3 doesnt have a proper game lobby/menu/server browser like BC2 to kick you back to

    In BC2 - I get kicked back to the main menu/server browser with the error saying lost connection to EA or whatever (NO CTD) = Normal

    CTDs with BF3 in the earlier days before 11.11c while loading into a game or still in a game was widely documented by other players who also had AMD/ATi cards and it didnt matter if they were using crossfire or not = Normal

    I could probably go back to using Cat 11.9's and ARMA II would probably work just fine again, but on the other hand it would bring back all the CTD's in BF3 that everyone experienced with the game because the drivers werent optimised for it.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have had glitches with both cards. AMD and NV drivers are still decades ahead of Intel VGA just saying. Count your blessings. As far as whose drivers are the worst NV mobile drivers are the worst things I have ever dealt with. Switching between in the Intel IGP and dedicated Nvidia card make 90% of the laptops they are in crash under 3D load.

    Personally I think BF3 is poorly coded and AMD's driver is trying to make up for it. You are stuck between a rock and a hard place. New games have beat the shit out of both companies drivers.
     
  19. ml2517

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Try 2 x 5970's in crossfire in BF3 (without vsync that is, it smooths out the FPS if you turn it on but you have horrible input lag). It runs like shit with any of their drivers, serious highs and lows in FPS (drops to the single digits). I've tried every driver from 11.9 and up with various combinations of the app profiles.

    I basically have to disable crossfire, disable one 5970 in device manager, use radeonpro to set up a vsync profile with triple buffering, turn on vsync in BF3, force a max framerate of 59 within BF3 and then.. and only then will it run flawlessly. I should point out that this is the only game I've ever had these issues with so it isn't my overclock.

    I'm guessing they have issues dealing with two dual GPU graphics cards or something, no clue, but it is a pain in the ass and is definitely steering me toward Nvidia in my new build as well (yes it is probably BF3's fault but this is my plan until I see AMD point the finger at BF3 for being the issue).
     
  20. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Man the fanboyism in this thread is sickening. I've used both companies over the last several years and both have their driver issues.

    I like how Nvidia fanboy's never talk about the driver that killed cards.

    Personally, I've had a lot more issues with Nvidia drivers as opposed to ATi drivers. I've run dual card setups since '05 and really only had an issue when Fermi came out and they made a blanket driver that was supposed to work with the older hardware and Fermi flawlessly, needless to say they did not. Made BF2142 unplayable for me.

    At any rate, OP if this ONLY happens in ARMA II, then this is an ARMA II issue and not a driver issue. Not to mention ARMA II is a horribly buggy game. You really like that game? :wtf:

    Also, why are you guys updating your drivers every month? I was running 11.5 until I HAD to update to 11.7 for the BF3 beta. Then ran that for a while until another game NEEDED an update. It always seems that the people that update their drivers all the time have the most issues with them.
     
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    I dont update my drivers every month. I only did it for the fixes with BF3 and Skyrim. the problem with ARMA II is just something that I inherited with 11.11c's and anything above that.

    No doubt this is the result of them fixing the broken crossfire profile and doing it rather half heartedly. so they f**ked something else up after unf**king it and its back to square one.

    if these 7970s are really that good, I may just sell up and opt for running a single card instead,
     
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Hey, I'm sorry to hear about this, freedom. :(

    I think you're absolutely right to report crap like this and let people know just how much trouble a product can be (goes for any brand here).

    Personally, I've never had any major issues with nvidia cards since switching from 4870 and getting a GTX 285. I had that until I got the GTX 580 recently, which continues to work perfectly. Heck, at the moment, I've got an 8800 GTX in the PC temporarily and it's flawless, if somewhat slow.

    I would suggest running with one card for now and then getting a GTX 580 in a month or so, when the prices have dropped due to competition - or perhaps wait for nvidia's Kepler, it's hard to know exactly when we'll see it at this point, or how good it will be. And yeah, I'm pretty biased towards nvidia, but why shouldn't I be when their products work so well for me?

    I can't believe AMD still put out drivers with problems like this nowadays. :shadedshu

    Now, I've taken what you've said at face value that it's the AMD drivers. However, we must try to eliminate all potential sources of problems. Therefore, how do you know it's not some other part of your system? Firstly, you need to take out the overclocks when troubleshooting problems like this and it could also be faulty RAM etc. What about your PSU? That can play up in subtle ways you wouldn't expect. Could it just be that the Windows install is bad? Does it need patching with all the latest criticals and DX update etc etc. There's lots of things to consider here, before blaming everything on the drivers and AMD.

    And I still find it hard to concentrate with that avatar... ;)
     
  23. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Have you tried a fresh install of the drivers from stratch? Clean, remove them all, install 1 card, install drivers, etc. the whole 9?
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    I think if you read all my posts you will see that i have mentioned that it only happends with ARMA II on more then one occasion. If my PC was unstable would it not crash randomly while idle, doing everyday things like surfing the interwebs or during a 6-8hr BC2 or BF3 gaming marathon with BF3@Ultra settings?

    your questions are all answered in my previous posts.

    I always run driversweeper before reinstalling drivers to prevent any conflicts.

    ------

    Im not saying that I know better - i'm open to suggestions but some of your deductions shall we say just doesnt match up.

    My OC is rock solid. If i dont play ARMA II then i could go on without having BSOD's for months or years even on the same set of drivers until I decide to play the game again

    the only time my PC ever BSOD'd like a bitch was when i put the rig together and i was in the process of overclocking. its been BSOD free until the recent update of drivers and ARMA II.

    Still not a driver issue?
     
  25. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,363 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,217
    I thought I had issues for a long time with a few games and it turned out my 940 was slowly dying and only a couple games brought it out.


    Throw in my new 1100T and all of a sudden everything is flawless.


    And yes, it passed OCCD, and every other test I threw at it. During heavy gaming and intensive applications it caused issues. As far as the green VS Red, if you search the internet for issues with Nvidia driver errors it will turn up plenty, and they are saying the same thing.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page