1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need help with GPU

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by joeyck, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Well i've been reading reviews about CF 5770's and I like what I see but I am kind of confused bout something... on some people are comparing them with single 5870's and some with a 5850... this 5850 MSI R5850 Twin Frozr II Radeon HD 5850 (Cypress Pr...

    is cheaper then 5770's in CF so what should I get? 5850? or dual 5770? I plan on getting 1 now but i also want to future proof myself i know in the long run 2 5850's would beat a 5770 but for the price would 2 5770's (buy 1 now and other 1 when the price go down) would that be a smarter move? i'm really confused bout the comparison between the 5770 cf and 5870 / 5850...
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,183 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    5770 is almsot exactly 1/2 of 5870. In real-world use, they are not the same, due to a lack of good Crossfire scaling, as well as the 5770's smaller memory bus.

    Personally, I'd take the single gpu config first, and then if performance is not enough, get another, but do not expect to add a second card, and get 2x the performance of one...that is not the case.

    When looking @ 5870 vs 5770 Crossfire, tesselation is better with the crossfire cards, but in the same vein, two 5870's are better than 2x5770. So take those comments with a grain of salt.
     
  3. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    i no 5870's would own 5770's in CF... so do u think i should go with 5850? then CF it l8r on when driver support gets bttr / cards become cheaper?
     
  4. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    I personally would suggest a HD5850, which is definate overkill on a 19" monitor. Then upgrade the monitor and grab another later for crossfire fun (or headaches, depending on your experience.) :D
     
  5. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    well i dont plan on CF'ing 5770's anytime soon but do u think 5770 prices will decrease anytime soon? like when the 6000 series comes out? i really think buying a 5850 (almost top of the line card) at the moment would be a bad move since newer stuff is bout to come out... and buying stuff now this expensive would be a killer (for me) so i was contemplating buying a single 5770 and when prices drop under 130 (hopefully) in near future the 5770 CF would be a nice deal any thoughts bout this?
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    I'd go with the 5850, but obviously due to my system specs, I'm biased. Driver support is just fine with CrossFired 5850's. Get one now, then grab another in two months when the price drops due to the 6 series.
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,177 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,939
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ^^ +1 all the way, at that res an HD5850 will fly in pretty much anything.
     
  8. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    alright then... 5850 it is... will a 750Watt PSU be able to run 5850's in CF for l8r in the year? i plan to pair the 5850 with a x3 440 i shouldn't c any bottle neck since i plan to OC
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    At what resolution does your monitor use Joey?

    Absolutely yes.
     
  10. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    19 inch i dont no exactly the reso. tho :( lol
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    LOL wut?:p Right click your desktop-->Select resolution. What is the highest it can go?
     
  12. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    (i'm at work lmfao) 1368 x 768 ( i think)
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    Allright. One 5850 is totally enough for anything. :toast:
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,183 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,465
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    5850 will be FANTASTIC @ that res, 4xAA.
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    Allright. One 5850 is totally enough for anything. :toast:

    If you have a model number for the monitor that would help.
     
  16. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Acer X183H Bb ET.XX3HP.B01 19" Class Widescreen LCD Monitor - 1366x768, 10000:1 Dynamic, 5ms, VGA, Black
     
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,009
    Is it widescreen, most 19" wide screens are 1440x900 natively.

    Although looking at the spec it is 1366x768.

    Your resolution will be wasting the 5850. The 5770 is more suited for you, but considering that you own a 9800 GTX+ already I think you should hang onto it as it performs similarly.

    To answer your question, the 5770 CF is almost as fast as the 5870!
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    Not if he's upgrading monitors which was already discussed. ;) Nothing wrong with overkill at all if it's within your means.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  19. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    well i personally died inside when i had to buy a monitor... that adds $ to any gamers build and it made me cringe i do NOT want to spend money any time soon for a new monitor lol really hated buying it...

    i think i might stick with a 5770 and get a quad core athlon since i do plan on playing BFBC2 and i heard it is more CPU hungry then GPU is this right? and will it be a big dif. between x3 or x4?
     
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    But you already have a quad core? :confused: I would just get the 5850 anyways, you'll be good for quite a while. Otherwise just do what you want. :)
     
  21. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    lol i'm building a new one... and now i'm actually selling the one i got in my specs... (finally -_-) i got a good deal for it and i'm going to be able to keep my monitor as well... but back to the CPU's in BFBC2 does it really matter if its a quad core or tripple core?
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    04578
    the athlon II x4 is slower then the 940be your basically spending money and losing performance none of this even makes sense to me

    all this seems like pissing money down the drain to me
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,268 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,852
    Well.. I don't really understand why you're selling your current machine but no. I doubt it will make much of a difference. BFBC2 can utilize multiple cores though you're not going to get bottlenecked with a modern processor.

    +1
     
  24. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,009
    It makes no sense going from a Phenom II X4 to a Athlon II X4, on paper its a downgrade.

    However in reality you will not notice much of a difference in the frame rate and if you overclock you might even gain frame rates, but the choice still makes no sense still.

    Regardless, speaking from person experience (see specification on the side) under DX 9.0 mode in BFBC2 I get a 75FPS average, 140 FPS peak, and 45 FPS minimum @ 1440x900, detail set to high.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
  25. joeyck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    716 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    well i'm not going to sit there all day and benchmark the dif. between the 2... i'ma be 2 busy shooting people on COD4 and wont notice a dif. lol

    why spend 100+ for a CPU when i can get athlon for less 90? oO e - peen?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page