1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NEED help with IP, and netstat -a?? please

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by jboydgolfer, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Yes thank you ALL, Very Much. I'm gong to Go try these options now. C-U-L8R
  2. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    I'm running the CMD prompt right now,,But I see no Response that something is happening?? should I see something? or does it just ruun?
  3. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    That's because it's being directed to the file. That's intended. If you open the file periodically, you'll see more stuff is getting added.
  4. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    okay, well I tried that Ctrl + C, then asdf .txt thing and it said that .txt was not recognized?? is there something I'm doing wrong? I copied and pasted your CMD.
  5. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Open the file in explorer. Or alternatively, you can do "notepad c:\asdf.txt" without the quotes.
  6. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    so I can type (notepad c:\asdf.txt) in Command prompt, and it will give me the results, right?
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Get ping plotter and run a ping test to servers you use. you can see the routing and what stations bottleneck. If the ping is very high, call your ISP and bitch about it. Comcast rerouted my signal and my ping went from 20's to 90's with my gaming server. I bitched and they fixed it.
  8. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Well I have My results , and From what I "think" i Got out of The previous Posts it looks like ALL is well. But you tell me.


    Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:
    Packets: Sent = 1212, Received = 1212, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 33ms, Maximum = 252ms, Average = 78ms
    Control-C

    Some High Ping's there. My usual is 15Ms, if thats accurate , I dont know, but I got it From Pingtest, and speed test.net.
    Please let me know if there IS a problem I need to address.
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,299 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Fairly normal results. Nothing negative to conclude from them. Default server PingTest and SpeedTest results are best-case scenario generally and are not representative of what you normally would get with other sites that may be dozens and dozens of hops away.
    jboydgolfer says thanks.
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Ping plotter will show the routing.
    jboydgolfer says thanks.
  11. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    628 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    Toronto
    for reference, looking at connections is a serious pain with netstat when you can just use tcpview

    so are the youtube page loads fast & the videos slow? other video sites? are you watching HD videos?

    not saying it's not an ISP issue, just that a lot of variables are here

    also this might be of use http://www.dslreports.com/forum/charter
    jboydgolfer says thanks.
  12. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Loading the Page itself is quick enough, It' s the buffering that takes wayyy to long, HD 720p 1080P Hd. I think it's Been traced to the ISP 's end,
  13. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,186 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you want some nice applications that can help assist you diagnosis network problems...
    Gaijin has eToolz, Opened Ports Viewer, and some online tools.

    Quote from eToolz site:

    They will help simplify the process of testing and are freeware.
    The same ones who gave us... SteganoG and The Bat! Password Recovery.

    EDIT: You might have to go under extras in the toolbars and pick your language in the language menu and restart. They seem to default to German.

    EDIT:

    Could be malware, but you would have to check the connections.
    More than likely, it is a case of the company or co-worker giving a phone center support person a little info and no real training on the matter. If they did not go into each connection with you, then, IMO, they did not attempt to troubleshoot the results and were probably brushing you off.

    You will probably have 20 or so open ports, depending on what software you have running, what services windows is using, any connections to web sites/services, auto updating, etc.

    I have, on TCP, 13 listening, 3 established, 7 waiting, and no viruses. My connection is great (and tweaked for fios).

    And, they should have done a little more testing than they did... if your post is stating all they tried.

    It is a lot more to the connection than going from point A to point B.
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  15. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    513 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78

    Thank you,,Although I have My hands Full with this TCPview right Now. If I continue to experience problem's I will likely go that route.

    I really need to find out if what I am seeing in TCPview is "Normal" or "non-problematic" though. Is there anything in particular I should be looking out for?

    When I close all of my internet based program's e.g. firefox iexplorer, etc..I get NO more Connected instances, which from the little I've found online is Good. But I'm unsure as to if there is anything Already on My pc which may be a Cause for concern.
  16. OnePostWonder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    574 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    One way I fixed YouTube videos taking so long to buffer was to clear everything in my browser (cache, cookies, etc.)

    You're getting a lot of good input. Even if it doesn't turn up anything, you've eliminated a possibility.
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,882
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I also have charter and sometimes it can get slow when they are doing services to local nodes and I have to get rerouted but they installed fiber nodes in my local area so I have been getting what I am paying for plus alittle more. The only network issues I have had of late were dying routers but since I have built a custom router, I have had zero issues.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page