1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with OS on new build

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Murasame, Dec 22, 2006.

  1. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    I just build a new comp and need help with the OS. The specs of the new comp are in my avatar's system specs. My problem is that I don't own a copy of xp because my last comp was a dell. I do have the dell xp home re-install disc. I want to know if the dell ver is the same as a standard Microsoft copy or should I dl it online if there are big differences? I plan to upgrade this new comp to vista in january when it becomes available. So is it worth the trouble to get it online until then or would using the dell copy be good enough?
  2. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    the one you have from your dell probibly wont work, and I know for a fine fact that dell loads loads of call home crap with that version of windows from installing a room of them at a community centre, would be best to aquire a bog standard version of windows by your own means
  3. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    Thought that might be the case. Any idea where I can get a bog ver? Torrent maybe?
    Also I keep reading about ppl using vista as there OS right now an RC1 ver I believe. Is it stable enough to use as my os on the new comp or would waiting for the actual public release be better?
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    dells version of xp home is OEM...not much of a difference but you will need to find a way to activate it..maybe use your dell product key that is on the side of the dell?
  5. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    I do have a key given to me when the original hd on the dell died and I replaced it. Would there be anyway to get rid of all the dell stuff they put on the disc?
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    get nlite and .net framework 2 and you can strip everything out of the disc you dont want but you will need a cd burner and a blank cd
  7. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    I'll see about trying that. Hopefully its not very complicated.
  8. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    Which Nlight's am i to download? Self-extracting, installer, 1.3, 1.2?
  9. PyroInc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    682 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    get vista then transfer everything to an external HD. (that would be the easiest) If you dont have a generic windows OS cd then dl it by torrent or IRC
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    i wouldnt reccomend a beta os to anyone especially if they dont feel like formatting in a few months....just stick with your dell disc and strip things out get the newest nlite program..
  11. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    I am confused as hell. I downloaded nlite installer and .netframwork 2. The .net told me I can't install it because I didn't have certain things pre-done. I clicked the link to what to do and I got some 25step list of files and programs to remove, rename, install. Sorry if this wasn't implied in my first post, but this is the first comp I've built so I'm not that tech savy yet. Still learning.
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    not sure but you might have to have windows installer 3.1
  13. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    Well this is getting a lot more difficult than I expected. I can't seem to find an ISO torrent for xphome. If I dl XpHome with sp2 files can they be turned into an iso for instillation on my new comp?
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    you can create an iso yes....
  15. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    cool. I found 2 torrents that look good, but the sizes are so different. First I found a xp home sp2 that 1.5gigs large. Then I found a XP Pro/full student edition thats only 530megs. Can the pro/student one realy be the full OS in such a small file?
  16. PyroInc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    682 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried doing that once and my dam comp wouldn't boot off the xphome cd. Just get XP PRO theres tons of those torrents out there and then burn it to cd.
  17. Murasame

    Murasame New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    172 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    L.A.
    Thats what I was thinking since all that seems to be out there is xp pro. Just all the torrents are less than 600megs which just seems way to small to be the whole os.
  18. PyroInc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    682 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    na that sounds about right

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page