1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with Overclocking Athlon 64 X2 3800+ on GA-M56S-S3

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by kedolf, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. kedolf

    kedolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi to all,
    Can anybody give me some feedback on this, pleeeeeaaaaaaase...
    Here's the link to some detailed readouts as well as new screens. All were taken while Prime was running in Blend for 45 min - 1hr. I've done total re-clocking from scratch today, no clear CMOS though. The weird thing is I've never managed to pushed it up so high on so low voltage before and get such temps. Gives me an incentive to go higher. I'm very curious what would be your feedback.
    Now CPU Freq is 256 at CPU Voltage Control 1.375V. There were discrepancies among these values set in BIOS and Windows & sys info tools readings. I know voltage can fluctuate but CPU Freq from mid 2-forties to 254 were always 1 lower in OS than in BIOS, 248 was 247, 250 was 249 etc. Only Sandra got it always right. Now it's OK everywhere.
    Cool N Quiet: Disabled
    Smart CPU Fan Control: Disabled
    PCIE Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    SATA Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    HT Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    and then: K8<->NB HT Speed: 3x
    K8<->NB HT Width: Auto
    CR: 1T
    Win on performance mode
    I don't think I have C1/E and C6 options in my Bios.

    https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B8tfWk0vzmviN1dEUFZ1WUY4NVE&usp=sharing
     
  2. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    It's been a few years, if I recall AMD had a few variations of the Athlon 3800+. The one prior to the die size shrink could be an overclockers delight while the other one was a real pain to get it to do anything.
     
  3. kedolf

    kedolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi and thanks,
    I recall four:
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2000MHz 512KBx2 Windsor 90nm F3 65W 2000
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2000MHz 512KBx2 Windsor 90nm F2 89W 2000
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2000MHz 512KBx2 Windsor 90nm F2 65W 2000
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2000MHz 512KBx2 Windsor 90nm F2 35W 2000
    mine is F2 89W (ADA3800IAA5CU) and it keeps proving to me I'm the silicon lottery winner. Maybe that's the one you mentioned. Here's the data as of few hrs ago: CPU Freq 276 MHz (original 200) at 1.375 V, - that's one notch above the default, max temp at Prime 49C, max temp at IntelBurn 55 C, mem 4-5-5-18 at 1.8V 1T, HT speed x3 and all on stock cooler cleaned & re-pasted this morning. I'm hoping to push to 2.7 GB but at 2.78 IntelBun freezes and at 2.80 Prime flunks me. Any ideas how to stay there rock solid stable?
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2014
  4. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    Bummer you CPU wasn't either of the 65W. CPUs tend to throttle back when pushed to the higher voltage and the watts in heat rises. If the thermal watts reach around 120W, then no matter how much you do on stock cooling, the CPU has reached it's limits.
     
  5. kedolf

    kedolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi and thanks,
    I'm not sure I got it right, did you mean the 65W was an overclockers delight? And sorry for totally ignorant newbie question but how do I determine what thermal watts I have and what do I measure it with? Forgive me these questions but I just started out my OC adventure and it's all new to me. I did my first OC ever just over a week ago. My last data: 280 MHz at 1.400V, mem 4-5-5-18 at 1.8V, CR 1T, HT speed x3, max temp at Prime 50C, max temp at IntelBurn 55 C and that's after 8 hrs + run.
     
  6. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    Yes, usually starting off with a cooler Watt CPU is better to OC with. It gives you head room to push the envelope further up the Ghz/Mhz ladder.

    Another OC limit is the memory timings. The FSB can lock up due to memory timing issues.

    For the most part, I run stock. I can adjust on the fly with the AMD Vision Engine Control Center to push the timings and OC if needed. At times like video or photo rendering, I've had to push the machine to the limits. Better for the job vs. waiting hours longer for the results.

    For gaming, OCing has it's perks too, but with that a good mobo, memory, and graphics that has the ability to adjust, OCing is rather easy. Now, going to liquid cooling can overcome high OC issues too. But, expect to pay much more. It's more bling per $$$ vs. your actual usage on the machine. I know, been there a few times with monster systems and gaming online over the past decade.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page