1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with possible AMD Phenom build.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by CDdude55, Jul 24, 2008.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I dont know much about AMD's best Phenom motherboards. Could someone please price out a good phenom system. I already have a case, monitor and KB/Mouse, but the rest is a mystery. I dont have plans to OC. I may go Crossfire in the future tho. And i need a DDR2 mobo that doesn't need a BIOS update or something to support Phenoms. But i still dont know where to start and whats a good mobo?
     
  2. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  3. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  4. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  6. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Not really well for overclocking if he decides to. I have the first version of the MSI CF-F and its a horrible overclocker the most i could OC my 5200 was from 2.6GHz to 2.8Ghz on that board :banghead:

    I would say it still is even if it can take 125w processors.
     
  7. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,987 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,157
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I would recommend DFI, though others would recommend ASUS.

    I would stick with an AMD chipset and wait for the 750 southbridge.

    As far as the actual chipset goes, it depends more on what features you want.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I OC'd mine purty good. took my 5000+ to 3.36ghz @ 1.44v

    Haven't bothered to go any higher through more tinkering. Would feel better with disposable income backing my mistakes. :D

    Any rate, all the new AMD boards are pretty good. Just pick a price you wanna pay, and dooo eeeet.
     
  9. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    He did say he doesnt want to overclock, but i think that the best overclocking crossfire board is Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe and it will get even better after it gets the new SB750. I recomended the 790X board cause there is no reason for him to spend more on the 790FX if not gonna overclock. As Silverel said MSI K9A2 CF-F V2 is also a very good choice for him as it is the cheapest right now.
     
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I was actually just looking at the Asus M3A32-MVP deluxe. It looks like a nice board. Does it support the AMD Phenom X3's?
     
  11. department76

    department76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    519 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    U of WY, USA
    i have an MSI K9A2 platinum and i love it-- runs cool, ocs well, great features including SAS capability.

    i only have an X2 not a phenom, but afik it supports every AM2/+ proc out there including X3s.
     
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Yes, heres the list of supported CPUs:

    http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=M3A32-MVP DELUXE


    It is a great board, but it would be a waste of money in your case since you are not gonna take advantage of its overclocking capabilities. It costs $189, while the 2 790X boards cost $125 and $95 respectively, see the diffrence? It would only make sense to get the Asus board if you gonna do tri or quad fire.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,648 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,038
    It sure does! It's not the easiest board to operate though. Coincidentally I have one for sale... Hmmm....;)
     
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Why not?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page