1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need HELP with problem most likely related to RAID

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nflesher87, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok so here's new system specs:
    -Biostar tforce 550 SE
    -Athlon X2 3800+ (65W)
    -2x Hitachi Dekstars 80gbs set to RAID 0

    When I try to install Windows XP Home SP2 it goes through all the loading files and then says Setup is loading Windows(at the bottom there), screen goes black for a sec, then BSOD!
    Here's what it says (abridged):
    Problem...

    If happens again follow these steps...

    Check for viruses, remove new HDDs, check HDDs to make sure properly configured and terminated (what the heck does that mean?), run CHKDSK.

    Technical Info:

    *** STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7C7A524, 0x0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    Please help! :respect:
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    cpu oc'd at all? could be bus speed issue
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Did you press F6 when it says to, to install the RAID driver?
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    I believe so! is it supposed to respond at all when I do? because it didn't do anything different when I press F6 (when it says to right at the beginning)

    and no there's no OC or any, just hooked everything up
  5. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    when you press f6 you should be prompted to put in a floppy with raid drivers, theres your problem
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yup, thats your problem mate :).

    Whats basically happening is that Windows has not installed any drivers for the RAID array. When it goes to install Windows, it cant detect what the HDD's are doing (the drivers basically tell it what RAID is), so it just BSOD's.
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  7. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    well I don't have a floppy drive?! I put the RAID drivers on a jump drive in the hopes that would work...does it HAVE to be floppy?!
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    With XP, it HAS to be a floppy. Vista is more flexible, lets you boot from what you want.

    The only thing you can do, is IF your mobo supports it, "emulate" a USB flash disk to "act" as a floppy drive.

    Not sure if your mobo supports it, but the option will be in the BIOS menu.
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  9. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Actually, I think it does for windows XP. :banghead:
  10. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,498 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    poop, well there's a little computer store down the road from here (at my fiance's) maybe they'll have a cheap one I can borrow for like 15 mins! haha
  11. Verikon

    Verikon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    82 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I just had this same exact problem (same stop error too) with my brand new Asus M2N-SLI. It would only happen when I had RAID enable. This is NOT an issue with RAID drivers -although you WILL need them for XP installer to see your RAID, otherwise it will see the two drives separately, or not at all, and yes it has to be a floppy-, this is a BIOS incompatibility issue.

    Reboot, disable your raid, try the install again, and see if it will get passed the spot it normally BSODs. This is what happened to me, and once I updated my BIOS, the BSODs stopped completely when I re-enabled RAID.

    I think the nForce 550/570/590 RAID controller has some bugs that are still being worked out.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page