1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with (really) old system!!!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by PuMA, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I got this old soyo motherboard (sy-6ba), with pentium II cpu, and I can't get it to boot with windows xp cd in. It boots fine into windows (2000 server) and teh cd-rom is working aswell as my wondows xp (sp2) cd. The HD is (sort of) stolen from my school and it has the supervisor password, wich i don't know and without it im not able to install xp from the windows.

    As soon as I change boot sequence from bios to cd-rom the system reboots and the screen just stays black. I've been able to get past the post screen, with HD unplugged, but it says
    NON SYSTEM DISK, PLEASE INSERT SYSTEM DISK TO CONTINUE:banghead: :banghead: :banghead: etc.

    I really need some help with this :wtf:
     
  2. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    its usualy as simple as changing your jumper settings on your hard drive or reseting the mobo with the jumper try it
     
  3. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I've used both slave and master on the CD, and resetet cmos a milloin times. Im thinking maybe
    a windows 98 cd would do the trick. Any1 know how to get to ms-dos promt on that system????
     
  4. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Not that I agree with theft in anyway, but your mobo will need a bios update to take the larger HD I would imagine, try that if you can still get 1 for it..
     
  5. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Beat it, by replacing the SAM file, as I showed others here how to do, here:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=25805

    (Search this in that thread to save time -> HOW TO "BLOW BY" MSGINA.DLL/WINLOGON SECURITY (2 methods, GUI & CONSOLE) )

    :)

    * End of story, should work...

    (That story ended well, & we actually recovered a man's lost laptop for him, & the poster ended up getting a NICE reward too!)

    Now, I do NOT like the "stolen" part, but since you say 'sort of' well, I am assuming it is not, NOT REALLY... & you are being honest about this, & to me? That goes a LONG ways...

    APK

    P.S.=> There is another method I have used in the past, installing XP onto 1 system, pulling the HDD once it is done, & putting it into the system XP will NOT install to... letting Plug-N-Play find the new equipment & ask you for drivers, as needed... it too, may be a 'work-around' for you in this case... GOOD LUCK! apk
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2007
  6. Sh00t1st

    Sh00t1st New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    371 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Austin,Texas
    most of the time ive found that you cant swap it like that, it wants you to reconfigure the core structure of windows for that individual motherboard, and this being what it is requires you go into the windows install. at least this is proven to be true in my experiences. it could be possible however, try everything never omit an idea because you think it might not work.
     
  7. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    Well at first, the HD was very old and I "saved it" before it went to trashcan or teachers home.

    APK-- I have tought of the idea, but as im building this setup for my GF's mother, for internet use, I want it to be as stable as ever.
    edit: the windows id no prob, byt getting the soyo, fuck to boot is a problem, no offence to u, but big offence to these outdated systems

    when u plug in win98 in goes straight into ms-dos comman promt????

    If that's so i could launch the xp setup manually

    If some1 could comfirm this i can get my hands
    dirty on those win98 cd's
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2007
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Aha... ok - good enough for me then, I take you @ your word!

    Then, DO look @ the idea of 'blowing past the security' on it, it is NOT very difficult, & mysticjon actually created his own 'variation' of it, using a USB thumbdrive to pull it off & diff. tools than I mentioned, but to the same ends & using the PRINCIPAL involved:

    "As you will find in multivariable calculus, there is often a number of solutions to ANY given problem!" - John Forbes Nash

    ... using the more "primitive" init. method I extolled, vs. toolsets you'd have to buy to do the same!

    APK
     
  9. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    So are u saying the Whole pc has somekind of hardlock, that dosen't allow me to reinstall xp??
    Alltough ur Idea might work I guess It could be easier to just try to get this POS to boot from xp cd.

    a little off topic but here's a really stupid question:
    how do u make a floppy drive work?? honestly I haven't had any luck in making floppy drive to work in my current systerm, but on the other hand haven't been really interested about the dilemma



    edit2: Alec: Sorry I u misunderstood me but, i know a password, that I can use to get into windows 2000,
    but it's a limited user account , and wont let me install ANY prog with that account. Where exactly is this SAM file located, and what's the name of it?? I Will try ur suggestion, as I just read the thread u linked.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2007
  10. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    You said it yourself... the username/password combination itself, per your first post:

    My methods will allow you PAST that, & to allow you to install from INSIDE windows, period...

    Oh, it will... see the URL above where mysticjon & I did it, & recovered his neighbors lost laptop for him...

    Those things ARE "S.O.B.'s" @ times... the cablemounts are NOT the greatest. Still, amazing that my 'fellow pol's' invention has stood the test of time THIS long in 1.44" units (iirc, it was Apple's own Steve Wozniak!)

    :)

    I * may * be 'off/wrong' there, brain's a junkyard of 'trivia' here, but it sticks out that HE was its creator.

    It is under %WinDir%\system32\config...

    You will need to use tools that mysticjon used, or that I told him to use, they are free, & they work... ordinarily, I would use a floppy disk to do this, but he used a USB thumbdrive & an 'alternate' to tools I mentioned... very creative of him, but principle was the same.

    APK
     
  11. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Not sure but I don't think your Pentium 2 mobo will support Windows XP!!
     
  12. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    I tought that myself, but I've seen xp with this mobo (not 100% sure tough). Anyways if the SAM thing don't work I have a PIII+mobo lying around so I'll problu use that1 if It still works:) :)
     
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    &, this is where my "hack method" of installing it on an HDD that WILL take XP on a mobo that supports it FIRST, may work...

    You install it on a machine that supports XP fully, same CPU family hopefully or NEAR to it (same class is best imo), then, pull the HDD once you are done & put it into the other machine (PUMA's old one you note) & then?

    Hopefully, PLUG-n-PLAY does the rest...

    :)

    * I have used this method before, to fool OS into doing this (Windows 2000 iirc) & it worked...

    APK
     
  14. PuMA

    PuMA New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    727 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Finland
    Alec: Can u point me out, where I can find the SAM file??
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page