1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with SSD alignment

Discussion in 'Storage' started by fullinfusion, Oct 9, 2010.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    I have noticed my SSD is not aligned to the 1024K ,its running 31K BAD

    Can some one explain or walk me through the process with out loosing all my data?
    Problem has been fixed with a bit of testing.

    *UPDATE*

    I found by just wiping and re-installing Windows 7 don't fix the problem.
    There are two ways to correct the alignment, One use OCZ Sanitary Wipe, Two when doing a clean install select the disk your going install windows on and click on it. Select delete drive and restart. Now back on the same screen click on NEW and don't partition the drive, let windows do it for you, that's the key.

    I came to my conclusion on how to format the drive and to have proper alignment by trial and error and these steps work. Why a ssd becomes un-aligned is beyond me but a proper aligned drive is a difference from day to night. :D

    I hope this helps some having Alignment problems.

    Grab Sanitary erase for Indilinx HERE
    How to use Sanitary erase click HERE
    And click HERE for the rest of the info your doing to need to complete the wipe as well as the W7 32bit repair disk.
    Be sure to read POST #2
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2010
    digibucc says thanks.
  2. va4leo

    va4leo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    284 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    subscribed.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  3. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    Heck with it, I grabbed sanitary erase and going to try it. Will let yall know what happens after I'm done.
  5. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    OK I'm back after getting the drive aligned. For those of you SSD owners you need to run AS SSD Benchmark. You can find it for D/L on the net. That tells you if the alinement is good or bad. Im going to update everything I found shortly. But all I gotta say is.... WOW, short and sweet. I thought this ssd was fast before, Was I ever wrong! Formatting the drive don't do shit. You need to google OCZ's program called Sanitary clean. That way the drive is totally cleaned after the program is ran.

    Be back with more info. ;)
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    OK, point being, windows starts 7 seconds faster. Every thing starts Waaaaaay faster. When you format the drive, your leaving cells dirty. Dirty = bad..(BAD) = slow. This option brings the old SSD back to 99% speed. (Outta the box) speed.

    If anyone has any questions about running The sanitary erase post them, I'll be glad to help. :pimp:
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,685 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    since i have no experience with SSD's, also subscribed.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  8. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    Cool, Mussles. I'm going to say this, a SSD that isn't aligned isn't worth a squirt of piss. It's castrated Big time. Most don't think about it but because...* it's fast as ever hey* *over a platter drive one see's it as Flash Gorden for speed* NOT!!! only when it's aligned that's where the big difference is! I seen a 300-500% gain in the way it's running now compared to before. :rockout:
  9. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,159 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
  10. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,839 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    i don't have OCZ - I have Intel SSds.... does that matter in using sanitary erase?

    I downloaded AS SSD Bench and it says I am 31k Bad as well... don't know how the hell that happens? anyway - how to go about this? back up data, wipe, copy data back over?

    thanks full!!
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    Im not sure if it matters, I think not but google it to check. The links below are what I used.

    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/content.php?267-How-to-use-Sanitary-Erase

    read post #2

    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?69503-How-to-use-Sanitary-Erase

    you mite wana check on Intel SSD Alignment and see what they recommend. Its Thanks giving day here tomorrow but we're having it today so with that said I'll be gone now for the day. Good luck :rockout:
    digibucc says thanks.
  12. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,839 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    thanks much ! two weeks til T-day here ;) have a good one!
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    Post #1 has all that's needed to fix the problem. :toast:
    digibucc says thanks.
  14. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,839 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    thanks so much man :)
    unfortunately I got a virus today, replaced winload.exe and nothing i did could fix it - but on the bright side it gave me an excuse to do a clean install and try this out!

    I didn't use sanitary erase, i just did what you said delete the drive and restart. SSD bench now says 1034ok or whatever, and bench and boot are definitely faster...

    thanks again!
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  15. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    I'm glad to hear your drive is aligned proper now, and hell yeah what a difference. I could hardly believe it myself the difference it made. :toast:
    digibucc says thanks.
  16. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Subscribed. I'm getting my first SSD soon, will i need to follow these steps even with a brand new SSD out of the box with a clean install of Win 7 x64?
  17. Zenith

    Zenith New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    165 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I have expirience with Intels. I use Win7 cd to format the disk. Or to just create partition. If installing image with Norton Ghost on that partition I get aligned WinXp or Win7 on that SSD. If installing new XpOS then I choose Quick format in XP install menu. Everything aligned. Win7 are aligned out of box.
  18. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    Never format a SSD drive EVER! Your going to kill it, I have studied a heap of info on the dos and donts.;)

    Go down load OCZ's sanitary erase program and use it. formatting a ssd leaves garbage behind, sanitary erase, cleans all the cells and bring it back to outta the box condition minus the ssd's stats on times powered up and such.....

    with a ssd and W7 just follow the prompts to install and dont create the partition, W7 will do it for you and it does it well. Also make sure you install your mobo's drivers for a hassle free SSD.
    :D
  19. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    I love how much life this SSD has left in it! :toast:

    [​IMG]
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,685 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    thats actually a pretty useful app.


    also, you suck at screenshots - use alt-print screen with TPU capture, and it caps the complete window in one go (and auto uploads it!)
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,754 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,696
    hehe I'm used to Vista paint, W7 paint trips me out. :eek:... TPU capture... I haven't got the hang of it but will try asap...

    But hey... Maybe I did it just to mess with ya! Looks cool though lol :D
  22. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'm not exactly great with maths but even from what I see you have 68% life left in your SSD which equals out to be over 9 years left, surely going by those figures alone to figure out how long the drive has actually been running is something like 4+ years?

    I may be way off so please someone tell me if I've got this totally wrong?

    I'm having a few problems with TPU Capture, goes through the saving/uploading ok but then I'm unable to see the uploaded image so therefore I have to use www.techpowerup.org to upload any images I want to use here :( I've also checked firewall settings and nothing seem's set wrong there. If you don't have a quick answer I'll probably start a new thread about it as I feel bad for hijacking this post already. :cool:
  23. robn

    robn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    180 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Or, if TPUcap isn't working at least save yourself some hassle with Snipping Tool - under accessories on the start menu! ;)

    Interesting thread BTW :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page