1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need New Mobo, Accidentally killed old one!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by pepsi71ocean, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    So i was chatting with my GF and i was also switching out graphics cards and bam, i fired my P45 Blood Iron, and it won't post.

    Im trying to figure out of my Graphics card is dieing, well i know something is, i don't know what though.

    SO i need a Replacement motherboard, and some good replacement ram, and it can't be Crucial. Ive burned through 6 sticks of ram on this computer, all of whih have died on different motherboards.

    The SB went on the P35, and took ram with it, oh and the CPU a low number Q6600 died, both of which were from a 680iMotherboard.

    The second set of ram ran on the Q6600, and the P35 till it was replaced with a X3220, and then the replacement set went, bought another set, and then one stick died after about 8 months.

    Suspected graphics card because it was getting hot, but the computer would lock up, and that was the story of that. Then failing ram, found a good stick and put it in fixed most issue, but the lock ups remained. now without a mobo i can't test the computer, as far as i know the X3220 is still stable.

    Any ideas, on a replacement, and DO YOU THINK SOMETHING ELSE IS GOING BAD??????:banghead:

    IM at the edge of my rope on this one this computer hasn't been acting right in so long, ive gotten tot he point where im using an old emachine which doesn't even work right with linux and right now im on a MAC computer., if i can't figure this out im going to drop it off on the 100 yard range, and drop about 300 rounds of FMJ 30-06 and .308 at it in anger:mad:.
  2. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,462 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    well if you want to try out an x38 board i have one of the best you can get for sale in my fs thread i also used a x3220 on it so i can confirm it works with that xeon
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Did you spill something in the puter? The whole story reeks of badness.
  4. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    ive always suspected that maybe ive clocked the PCI slot to high, 108 seemed to be the most stable, but ive wondered if that killed my P35?
  5. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Asus M3A78-EM ...lot of specs and great bang for the buck
  6. hoss331

    hoss331 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida
    ^^ I dont think an AMD MB would work to well with an intel chip. ;)
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Don't raise the PCI slot bus, it makes everything unstable. And it doesn't increase performance.
  8. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    any suggestions for a replacement motherboard?
  9. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Asus P5Q3's are cheap and do a pretty good job.
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  11. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    We never know ! :p I wasnt sure if he fried also the cpu thats why :) But for good budget the one i told is fine...im not into intel so i talked of what i know :)
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,414 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    change over to AMD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    everything u said doesnt make sense, theirs no way u blew all those parts
  14. RX-7

    RX-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    265 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Wichita,KS
  15. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    i was surfing that link, and saw thae P35, which i hadm loved the board, and so i went to the egg, and saw P45 Blood Irons for 104 bucks.

    any suggestions for RAM? I noticed its 1066 standard, so should i move to something like 1150, or 1200, or should i play with the 1066 sticks and clock them up?

    Any suggestions guys?
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The BI P45 doesn't overclock as good as its P35 brethren. IMO stick with 1066, ddr2 costs way too much these days. Might as well go ddr3 + P55 for the price difference.
    pepsi71ocean says thanks.
  17. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Yea, i had issues with stability with old P45, i was thinking it was the 800 ram. but any recommendations for a P55 and some ddr3? and would i notice a faster system?
  18. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    do you guys think its a PSU? and is there any way to check
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yes it would be a noticeable difference.

    I am a big fan of these 2 boards:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128401
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188055

    Also nearly any kit of Ripjaws is good. Tridents are nice also.

    IMO, Only truthful way is with a different power supply. You could attempt to run OCCT + Furmark.

    EDIT:

    Sorry for editing twice. Is it possible to get an RMA on your power supply claiming it is malfunction and possibly fried your components?
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2009
  20. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    this is rough, so not its more then just a mobo and ram, should i also look into getting a new Graphics card.

    Its a Silverstone OP800W, i think it can be RMA'ed, the GTX280 i also think i registered it so that should also be able to RMA that.

    I never bothered towards thenend, i know it passed furmark, but i though the Gprapichs card was dieing, that is why i went to put in my older 8800GT.
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well i think all your problems are down to power supply. Have you tested the components outside the case chassis? because it could still be a short somewhere near the I/O and expansion slots causing a problem.
  22. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    592 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    I'd go for this option. If it has been a common component on your rig all this time, it may possibly be the case.

    OC'ing the PCI slot just makes your machine unstable, and I agree with a previous post, there is no noticable performance increase. As far as i know, it wouldnt actually fry the board, especially it it had only been OC'd by 8mhz.
    pepsi71ocean says thanks.
  23. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    this is one reason i suspected a bad graphics card. but i find it hard to believe the PSU is going, but i don't have a back up system either.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page