1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Overclocking Help

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by brandonwh64, Dec 12, 2009.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    OK i just built a new rig with the AMD 965 125w C3 version. specs below.

    OK here is the problem. I have went through the overclocking guides on here and i can get it to 4ghz on stock voltage and more with a voltage bump but when i try to run any stress test it automaticly BSOD! I have went and loosened my memory timings from defualt 7-7-7-18 in increments up to 9-9-9-28 and bumped the dram volts from 1.6 all the way up to 2.0v and still same result BSOD. Now it will post and boot into windows at 4ghz and even 4.2 and i can do anything i want besides a stress test and it will preform fine.

    with temps at 1.55 @ full load i wassnt getting but about 49deg cel so i know its not a temp issue. HELP!

    ASUS M4A79T Deluxe AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard |
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 125W |
    Corsair TWINX Dominator Dual Channel 4096MB PC12800 DDR3 1600MHz Memory |
    BFG GTX 285 OC+ 1GB |
    Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000 RPM - MAIN DRIVE |
    2x 250GB/400GB/500GB 7,200 HDDs |
    ENERMAX Liberty 500W ATX12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply |
    Tuniq Tower 120 |
    Windows 7 |
    NZXT M59 Case
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,220 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,504
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Are you using the latest(newest) bios?
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yes newest bios

    is there a bios for this motherboard thats the best for overclocking?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Brandon, it might boot and post into windows, but it's clearly not stable. Have you tweaked any voltage whatsoever? at that clock, the NB probably needs a litle extra juice let's say. You mind either posting your BIOS settings or taking some pics of it? Thanks.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yea i bumped up the voltage to 1.55V Vcore and still same result. I would love to take a picture gimme a couple of minutes and i will post. what NB voltage should i change it too?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well brandon, why don't we start from the bottom. For the past few days I've been helping a member over at the Phenom II thread and he's been successful so far.


    Why don't you load defaults. Set what you need to set first, and then just raise the multiplier. Try one multiplier at a time and stress test. If it passed try the next available one and so on till it's not stabel. Once you have issues with stability, increase the vcore one notch at a time till it stables out and so on and so on.
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    OK here is the screen shots of my bios settings

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    You are more than likely going to need to raise one or more of the other voltages, such as the northbridge voltage like stated above.

    That's how it's done!
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    what is a good NB voltage?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Brandon, why don't you try what I told you bro.

    Load defaults.

    200x17 = 3.4 Ghz which is default speed.

    Go into BIOS set vcore at 1.4v. Try raising multi from 17 to 17.5. If stable raise to 18 and so on. At any given time, if the system does not pass the stress test go into bios raise voltage from 1.4 to next available option or until stable. Keep an eye on temps, the max you wanna see during stress testing is 58-60ºc. Try this method better, it works bro, I know what i'm telling you.

    Give it a shot and post back. once we dial in the CPU we will go ahead and mess with the NB and its voltage :toast:
     
  11. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    And stress test with this. It dies a lot quicker than prime95 (and takes less time to get started than OCCT).
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yes, that is my favorite! Easier to use than any other and now with the latest version you can even set it by time instead of runs like the previous version. LinX rocks my socks :rockout:
     
  13. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,939 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Chicken Patty Do you suggest any Per core stress test's.....
    I'm looking for one as well..
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    per core? not sure if I'm getting you. I recommend LinX.
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    ok ive tried as you said patty and NOTHING is stable except stock clock speeds. ive tried ever voltage setting on the Vcore/HT/NB/DRAM and still NO stability after stock speed. Ive changed the HT speed in increments from 800mhz to max and still nothing. Im beginning to think this motherboard and/or CPU is not overclocking material.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    That or RAM problems.
     
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    *cough* i propagated linx long before you CP. :Din fact it was an underground linpack (most used intelburntest,or OCCT), used by just a few members, until i asked everybody to show me his/hers runs with it. correct me if im wrong;) (i find, that i started several "trends" in this forums, but i dont know really):laugh:
     
  18. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I was pimped/pimpin LinX long before Jun 2009.
     
  19. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    as i said, only a few members used it. but now, there seems to be a wave of "new" linx users, if im not completly wrong;)
     
  20. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Long time comin. I'm just happy that most people understand that the only true way to see stability is to LinX it out. There are still people who think their rigs are stable because they can run prime95 all day and that is hilarious/sad.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  21. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    prime has its use, its more detailed, where an error happens.
    linx is faster, easier to set up, and pulls very much (also i like the flop counter:D)
     
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    what should i do with the RAM?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Memtest.
     
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,937 (9.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,411
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    done memtest for 6 hours yesterday NO errors.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Wow that is nuts beat. There is no processor that cannot overclock at least a little bit with enough voltage and cooling. There is no motherboard that cannot handle a little of either also. You did start with only a .5 multiplier overclock (probably around a couple hundred MHz) right? And THAT even failed with several extra volts? You have to be more clear with what exactly you're shooting for and where it's failing.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page