1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need reliable router for server network

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by johnspack, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,382 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I've just tried a dlink, it puked. I've got linksys, I hate it, it's flakey. I just need one wired 100 m/bit tank, programable router. Advice? I usually use dlink or linksys, but nothing is working, what newer model do I need? Help, very important, I run a multiple server network.
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,097 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    US
    I use a Linksys BEFSR41 V3 and had 0 issue's with it. Been great for getting stuff from one PC to another.

    Although by programmable i'm not 100% sure what you mean by that. Well yes of course you can change stuff on it but if it can do what you want i don't know. I just know it's been great with 3 comps sharing files.


    and yes it's 100Mb\s
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,005 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    cisco should have something that fits your needs
     
  4. Th0rn0

    Th0rn0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    422 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Linksys all the way on routers and switches. Although my current one is dead (nothing to do with the switch mind)

    I think when he said programmable I think he meant managed.
     
  5. Ptep Guest

    Perhaps a little more information on what your trying to achieve and your 'multiple server network' might aid us in pointing you towards the most suitable equipment? Cisco - whilst very good is also very expensive compared to most home networking gear and can be difficult to set up so it may well be total overkill for your situation.

    Post back what your trying to do and what setup you have and im sure someone would be happy to point you towards the right gear.
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,005 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    i'd interpret "multiple server network" (+ assumed clients) as something corporate that generates revenue, that depends on the internet connection. no/bad internet = no money.

    100 mbit also suggests that there is quite some money involved for internet connectivity
     
  7. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    I use Billion Routers here at home and there awesome, best ones ive ever used, Dlink just suck, never use one of those again, i sold it for cheap to some family lol. Always had to reboot the Dlink every 2 weeks, where the Billion very rarely ;)

    I also use a 8port ASUS Switch it works fine, but i wouldn't recommend one.
     
  8. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    I`m quite pleased with Linksys routers. But as you said you don`t like them.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,105 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,166
    LinkSys WRT54GL + Tomato Firmware
     
    mordant80 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    We'll have to wait on more info from OP... there's old Linksys, new Linksys, some models have trickled down from Cisco, etc. He could have used one with known problems.

    Same goes for DLink and most other companies.
     
  11. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    my router performs flawlessly regardless of load, yay openWRT [X-Wrt is a great GUI for it]

    ive heard good things about tomato too
     
    mordant80 says thanks.
  12. mordant80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    West Virginia
    I use dd-wrt on my linksys personally... Router acts better than with the stock firmware, that's for sure. But yea, a linksys with an alternative firmware can be quite nice.

    But if you're in a professional environment, maybe you should look in to something a bit more like a cisco.. I've had experience with netopia equipment, it's not bad either. There are a few choices out there for non-home, professional type equipment.
     
  13. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    WRT54GL + DDWRT i use at home .. rock solid ...
     
  14. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,266 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    I've got 2 Netgear FVL328's. One in UK, one in Germany. VPN running between them making one network. I Dameware NT to control remote machines and perform installs/upgrades. Never a problem. If you are looking for wired tanks and no inbuilt wireless, they are good. Cheap on ebay.
     
  15. mordant80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    98 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    West Virginia
    ...and i just had to cycle my router.. I blame this thread.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page