1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

need router advice

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by leemerlord, Oct 19, 2010.

1. leemerlord New Member

Thanks Received:
    my parents want a new routor and i had no clue want to suggest as i have no real knowledge other then knowing how to hook it up and make them work lol. we currently have the Belkin enhanced wireless routor N 150 and since my dad has returned home from his tour over sea's ive noticed my connection being slowed down(i am wired btw, both parents have laptops and my mom has a desktop that is wireless). If there is something that i could do to make it go faster w/o buying a new routor that would be great, if you need more info ill be pleased to answer :)

2. timta2

Thanks Received:
    Have you made sure that it is secured? (WPA2?) Some routers require occasional resetting. Have you tested speeds directly to the modem vs with the router?

3. leemerlord New Member

Thanks Received:
    i cant remember who told me this before but ive been told to reset your routor atleast every month? idk if thats good or bad but i do it, and ya ive tried that, i was faster just straight out of the modem but then got yelled at because no one else had internet :laugh:

4. streetfighter 2

streetfighter 2 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I almost never reset my router.

Also your question is potentially gargantuan.

Not only could someone be leeching bandwidth by wardriving, but there could also be viruses on your LAN computers that are busy stealing bandwidth...

Get started with wireless security here:
    http://en-us-support.belkin.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/28

Run all the virus scanners you can on all of the computers connected to your router! I recommend using MBAM to start with:
    http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

5. leemerlord New Member

Thanks Received:
    ive never heard of wardriving

6. theonedub