1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need serious help with my new computer

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, May 17, 2007.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    About a week ago, I purchased components for my upgrade which was;

    ASUS M2N32-SLI motherboard

    AMD AM2 Athlon 4600 (2.41GHz)

    2GB Twin Corsair RAM PC2-6400

    250GB Seagate Barracuda HDD SATA II

    CD ROM Drive - Cable Select - On the same IDE cable as the DVD R/RW

    DVD R/RW - Cable Select

    Magna 600w PSU 12V (17A)

    After I built my upgrade, then I switched on, I noticed my computer taking a while to boot up like when you see XP's blue loading bar going across, it does that for a few minutes and when I am finally on, I noticed when I inserted a game into my CD ROM drive, it loaded it up ok, no problems but when I insert my Motherboard support CD that came with my ASUS board, I wait for a few seconds to give it a chance to load up then when it loads, it sounds like it's spinning then when it spins and gets faster it just drops then I can hear it spinning a gain a little more then I can hear little clicks coming from the CD ROM drive too and the process just keeps repeating. If I load it up in My Computer (for some strange reason, I have 2x CD Drive, one is letter D and the other is E for some odd reason). But if I try and load up the CD by going into My Computer, and double click on the drive, nothing happens then then after a few seconds, my computer just freezes and says "not responding". If I take out the CD, it is then ok and a box pops up saying please insert CD into drive. Weird laugh:

    Hope you understood my perfect English :cool:
     
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    Try gently cleaning the disk.
     
  3. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    If you mean the support CD, I have, no use :(
     
  4. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    What I mean is it sounds like your OS is clocking , maybe because it is struggling to read the CD due to damage or being dirty....I have seen this happen with my own eyes:toast:
     
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,295 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Location:
    Florida
    i think theirs something wrong in general sounds like his whole puter is having a problem hmmmm actually though it may be a pain id make sure everything is connected corectly format using a prompt with the xp disk and then try a fresh install and b4 anything else after the format install your drivers and stuff for the mobo....but if you really dont want to do that you can download the drivers from your mobo's web site just search for your board on their site and it should have a drivers tab next to it.
     
  6. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I will try a fresh install.
     
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Ok. I have come across that my optical drives are ok but I'm just still wondering why now my computer still takes a while to boot up and my PC is loud, I think it's the loud fan from the PSU but I ordered a new Atrix 720W PSU Black Silent with Dual Rails (total amps is 32A). And I am having problems with my sound too but I can't use my Support CD because it's scratched and won't read. I am not sure either if anything in my case needs plugging in but I have put my cable labled "Audio" in the AAFP but I wasn't sure where the Audio cable goes.
     
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Have you manually updated all drivers for your hardware and updated your bios?
     
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Well I updated my BIOS, everythings been detected. How do you manually update my drivers for my hardware?
     
  10. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Just check @ the Asus site for the motherboard drivers and install the latest.
    Also download the latest drivers for your videocard and if necessary for other hardware installed.

    Check that you have your ram in the right slots. I noticed that i had it in the wrong slots after looking @ CPU Z. For dual channel they have to be in the slots of the same color.

    Do you use the onboard soundcard?

    And did you set your hd to first boot device in the bios?
     
  11. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I have DDR2 RAM. 2x 1GB Corsair Twin PC2-6400 RAM, both in the yellow slots. I will have a look on the site. Do you know anything about "on board high definition audio"? I am also having trouble getting sound. I put in my Creative Lab sound card and it detected that but not sure where to get drivers for it.
     
  12. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
  13. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    From that part onwards on that site, I am not sure which to select as mine just says "Creative Lab PCI" when I go into Control Panel > Sounds and Multimedia. It's not a good sound card, just an original one.
     
  14. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
  15. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    But you can also try to take out your soundcard and download the latest driver for your onboard sound.
     
  16. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    When sound is already onboard, I don't need to connect anything to my motherboard? Means that I just downloaded the drivers for it then I got sound?
     
  17. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Yes that is correct. You do have to plug the green plug from your speakers in the back of your motherboard.
     
  18. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Thank you. I will log onto my own computer now because I am using my sisters laptop at the minute. One minute. I will give updates :).
     
  19. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    For the sound HD driver, when I launch "setup.exe" an error pops up saying "The HDA Audio bus driver is required and not found."
     
  20. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Do u use XP 64 bit?
     
  21. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    All I know is I got Windows XP Professional SP1 at the minute because I formatted about 2 weeks ago. How can I find out if mine's 64 bit or not?
     
  22. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    You have to have service pack 2. Probably that where the problems come from.
     
  23. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Don't get me wrong but if you don't know which Windows you have exactly. Doesn't make solving your problems any easier.
    I gave you advice to download Everest. So you can see everything from your pc hard and software. So please do.
     
  24. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    If you use a slot in sound card does he not need to disable onboard sound in Bios..?
    But as said else where in this thread you need to get your Windows up to date first as there's usb fixes in sp2..

    In order i do a format..

    1/Fresh install of XP (with service packs 1&2)..Then visit microsoft update for any remainers.
    2/Motherboard drivers and any utils(auto update-probe n such)
    3/Graphics drivers(cos the damn icons are far too big)
    4/Then stuff your H/D to the brim with crap..:laugh:
     
  25. Kammster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    188 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Guyana, South America
    cable select never worked on any board i had, try setting master and slave drive and connect according to the directions in motherboard manual
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page