1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need simple networking help please

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Black Panther, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    He said he did but I suspect he left out his laptop, my mom's laptop and my brother's pc which connect wireless...

    He said he took note of the IP addresses allocated beforehand. I'll be checking that out later tomorrow..
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    This is really hard to T/S without seeing the details of the setup. lol
    Here's what I would do ...
    Turn everything off.
    Turn on the Belkin (let it initialize).
    Turn on the switch.
    Turn on one computer that is plugged into the switch and bring it up into Windows.
    Do a "ipconfig /all" on that computer to see what it thinks its IP address and gateway are.
    Black Panther and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would do this but as long as you have no settings you want saved, I would factory reset the belkin so you will have DHCP enabled again and then test each machine to see if it acquires an IP address.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Well, we replaced the Edimax switch with the conceptronic router again (working as a switch) and the belkin router/modem still upstairs.

    This time the connection works, the 3 wired pc's see each other and can access the main one which contains the accounts program we use for work. Both wired printers work fine too, from any pc. (whew!)

    According to the Network and Sharing Center in Control Panel, there is internet on all 3 wired pc's. However, I'll get a page load like 10% of it and get stuck like that. I tried to send 2 emails they remained in my outbox. I tried to load speedtest.net and the page wouldn't even load from any of the 3 wired pc's.

    I loaded speedtest from a laptop (connecting to Belkin through wifi) and got a 5Mbps download. The connection is supposed to be 8Mbps...
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,447 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,996
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    two routers on one network will not work properly if not setup right. Both are useing there own DHCP pool and could have different octants. I will say though, if it works to your desire then keep it rocking but you may experience DNS issues in the future. If you can try to order a name brand unmananged switch like linksys/D-Link to replace the secondary router.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Pretty sure it's a cable fault now.

    Using Belkin + Edimax switch we get nothing. We also tried other switches.
    Using Belkin + Conceptronic (router) as a switch we get internet.

    So we kept using the latter... but I noticed my emails weren't getting sent.

    So I tried speedtest, download speed was normal but upload speed gave an error and was zero.

    It's likely the guy who custom-made the long cable for us didn't do it properly when he used the crimping tool...

    It's funny how with one device we get downloads and with another we get nothing.

    I thought a cable would either work or not work, not do a half-job! :laugh:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page