1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some advice on upgrade/New build...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by IggSter, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    I have two questions if anyone can help me....

    1. I have a gaming rig with:

    AMD x 2 5600 (Brisbane)
    Asus M2N-SLI deluxe (AM2)
    8800GTS 512
    2 Gig DDR2 6400
    XP pro 32 bit

    I want to upgrade the CPU (this will be the last upgrade before I build a new gaming rig)

    Im considering either:

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6400+ 3.20GHz (Socket AM2)
    or
    AMD Phenom X4 Quad Core 9950 2.60GHz Black Edition (Socket AM2)

    Question is: Which will I see the biggest performance increase from at stock speeds?

    2. I'm about to order the parts for a home server which will run a number of different services 24/7 (media streaming, web server etc etc)

    I'm considering a Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 "Energy Efficient SLACR 95W Edition" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) for the CPU.

    1st question is:

    Does anyone have any alternative CPU they would recommend for this job? (Quad core-low power)

    2nd question:

    What motherboard would you recommend for this CPU?
    (It must support 8Gig of ram, overclocking is NOT a factor, must be incredibly good quality and as future proof as can be expected)

    Thanks in advance :toast:
  2. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    IggSter says thanks.
  3. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    No I'm not set on anything atm.

    I currently run 2 x P4 3Ghz servers that use approx 180w each at full load and the plan is to have the new server replace these. That's the main reason I need a quad core due to the number of services it will run.
  4. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Opteron.

    That's all I gots to say
    IggSter says thanks.
  5. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  6. B1gg3stN00b

    B1gg3stN00b New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,944 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Yeah, you really can't get more heat and energy efficient than an Opteron!
  7. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    Thanks for that, I'd completely forgotten about those:laugh:

    Any motherboard you would recommend?
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    how bout going Phenom II?
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    @spearman914 could be for his rig BUT not for his server.
  10. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    Well that's the thing, I really dont know and I'm looking for advice.

    What I do want is 4 cores and 8Gig ram, I have all the disks I need, case and a 7800GT so its just a CPU/Mobo combo that will run:

    Apache
    MySQL
    Web Jukebox application (Java/Tomcat)
    A few http/php/mysql web apps
    iTunes
    Real time down sampling/transcoding
    FTP server

    This will be running 24/7 and being accessed by 5-10 users.

    My 2 x P4 3Ghz PCs just about handle this but are very noisy and use a ton of power. :shadedshu
  11. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Yea obviously. I didn't think i have to mention for someone to realize.
  12. IggSter

    IggSter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    BY-S36
    I'm 99% sure the mobo in the gaming rig in OP will not accept a PII :ohwell:
  13. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    You cant go wrong with the Biostar board I suggested. An Opti would fit in it very nicely. :toast:
    IggSter says thanks.
  14. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Definitely go with an opty for the server. Thats what the are built for (they have better silicon than the mainstream chips) I love my opty, can't say a bad thing about it.
  15. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I personaly have never owned an Opti, but by reputation they kick ass. :rockout:
  16. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    They do! I am personally messing with my overclock again. I had the voltage set to auto which was dumb. Still don't know if I should change the HTlink from auto...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page