1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some advice

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Towly, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Towly

    Towly

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Hi All TPU'ers

    I've got an old intel pentium dual core e2180 2.0ghz processor with the ecs p4m900t-m2 mobo.
    Now my question is, can I for instance put a C2D E7500 cpu in it. Cause the e2180 is a 65nm and the e7500 is a 45nm. Will it damage the mobo?
    Please give me some advice.

    Thanks in advance
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    It wont damage the mobo. I would give it a try. If it boots up provable CPU would work at lower freq because the motherboard don`t support so high fsb. But you can overclock the mb fsb so it would reach the stock fsb of the CPU.

    I have done this on intel 945 chipset motherboard.
    Towly says thanks.
  3. Towly

    Towly

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Well my mobo's fsb is rated to 1066 and the e7500's fsb is 1066fsb
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon
    Why dont you check the CPU list on the manufactures web site?

    I did it says no. But it wont hurt to try
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  5. Towly

    Towly

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Been there...asked the support team...tried overclocking my cpu which the mobo does not support.
    Just looking for all of your opinions. Will it work or not...done.
  6. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    The CPU is not on the list. If support the fsb even better. For one the 45nm are using lower voltages so it should be safe.
    Towly says thanks.
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon
    Not on the list is a no. I would be shocked if it even posts. Although if theres a bios update its a maybe
  8. Towly

    Towly

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    60 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I saw there is a bios update to support the e5200. But i'm a bit sceptical about flashing a bios.
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    Location:
    Oregon
    If its a flash that does it from Windows then its fairly safe. Just dont lose power in the middle of it
    Towly and r9 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page