1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some help overclocking Phenom II 1055T

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by El_Mayo, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Here's where I'm at now
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    my memory clock feels awfully low though :( That won't affect performance too much will it? or at least be mitigated by the faster CPU?
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wtf?> Why did your NB frequency drop also? You can adjust HT Link and NB frequency individually. Keep it at x10. Just trust me with this :)
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,882 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    ~2600mhz NB and 2400mhz HTT always worked pretty well on my Phenom II 940. You say Prime95 runs well when your run a stress test? You're using small FFTs right? You want to push your computer has hard as possible and small FFTs will do that. When I'm at 4.75ghz at 1.4v, everything runs well except prime95 with small FFTs and I found when I got it stable there, everything else felt solid too.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Aquinus

    All I am doing is making it to where El Mayo can just keep bumping up fsb til his heart is content. HT Link don't really matter. NB Frequency and Core clock does. Dram speed can be rather tertiary and can be adjusted once you find that certain sweet spot.
     
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,882 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It does when it causes your system to become unstable. Also with dual-gpu solutions or SSD RAID you may find that HTT could improve speed in very specific scenarios, but this is all really about higher stable overclocks and keeping HTT at or under 2400Mhz should be fine, where the NB will go up to 2600 or higher on the thanbun chip. My 940 didn't like higher than 2600 on the IMC.
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Thank you! I didn't (and should have) put 2+2 when it came to multi gpu configurations. Even at that my method would still help him isolate IMC+Cores to see exactly how far he/she can go.
     
  7. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Yeah I ran for 8 hours with small FFT, failed blend in 10 minutes
    but these are on settings I don't remember, so they're not relevant now. I think the RAM clock was too high or w/e

    I... don't know lol
    NB multiplier x10
    HT Link x 8
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If you're passing memtest and failing blend. Give IBT a run at >=3072MB for 5 runs on all cores to check IMC stability. If you fail there give it some CPU-NB/IMC voltage.
     
  9. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    That was a while back. I can't remember the settings, but if I come across the same problem, I'll try it. I've been playing GTA all day and I haven't crashed yet, but I'ma keep pushing the cpu til I hit 250 FSB, then tweak it if necessary to be my 24/7 clock
    write down all the settings, then proceed further to 260+
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  10. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    okay I'm on 240 FSB
    Gonna start stress testing now, how long of which tests should I run to determine a good 24/7 clock?
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Should only need a couple hours.
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  12. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    [​IMG]
    Nearly 8 hours at Small FFT
    temps and voltages included in the screen shot
    I think we can call that one stable? :)

    edit:
    Memory settings (How are my timings? :) )
    [​IMG]
     
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Timings are perfect EDIT: May want to try switching over to 1t once you get everything settled. Carry on with fsb. I wanna see you hit that 3.5Ghz/2.5Ghz NB & 1600 dram speed. :rockout:
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  14. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    1T being the command rate?

    I'm gonna make the jump to 250FSB now ;)
     
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,374 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Nice Stable OC there.

    Remember to test S3 Sleep wake up too ;)
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  16. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    233 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    my overclock...

    not sure if this will help... but have a 1100t on a sabertooth MB (990fx) running 4GHZ. NB3200, 888 24 1600DDR3 1T
    (see the pictures for the MB settings)

    that is at 1.404; stable for 42 hours on prime 95.

    also info at (post #14125@page565, and #13941@page558)

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2556220#post2556220

    [​IMG]

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=47403&stc=1&d=1339101118

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=47404&stc=1&d=1339101118

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=47405&stc=1&d=1339101118
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 7, 2012
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You got it. Go for it man!
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  18. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Already tested that :) I use sleep all the time, and it woke up from it :)

    Okay tried to boot at 250 FSB and it hung
    Running on 245 fsb atm, should I find the exact FSB at which it hangs, take pictures of my current settings and you guys can tell me where to go from there?

    I get the feeling your board's WAY more high end than mine :p
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok try loosening timings to 8-8-8-24 and report back
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,374 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    893
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    May be time to bump the volt a bit?
     
  21. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    I'm at 245FSB, so I should go straight to 250 and loosen the timings now?

    I'll try loosening timings first, if not that, then voltage. Don't wanna add unnecessary voltage too early :)
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Loosen them then try the bump. If that doesn't work will need to bump core and CPU nb volts up, cores to 1.3v and nb to 1.25.
     
  23. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Okay I went all the way up to 249FSB with 7-7-7-21, then 250 just wouldn't have it
    I've change it to 8-8-8-24 and it boots now... at 3.5GHZ now

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I tried to go up to 255 and it booted, but with only 3 cores working (strange?)
    Gonna do some gaming/stress tests tomorrow
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012
  24. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    224
    Okay I failed prime95 Small FFT with the above settings ^
    woke up to a blue screen

    What now, should I use the old 7-7-7-21 timings with an increased CPU voltage? or the current 8-8-8-24 timings
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sounds like IMC aka CPU nb. Give it a touch of volts on that and cores. Should be set from there.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page