1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some help unbricking a Cable Modem

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Sonido, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    I could use a BlackCat cable method, but I don't feel like prying it open, soldering the header, buying the BC cable, and getting the software. It's too much trouble for this modem.

    I have a SB4100. I've tried all the basics, including EB.
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    hmmm.....if unbricking dont work i have a SB5100 i could trade you
  3. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    You want my SB4100 for your SB5100?
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    i was think maybe you had something you wanted to trade that worked :)
  5. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Lmao, I kinda figured that. I was kind of curious to see if that's what you meant, though. I was going to ask why...

    Well, I have a DSL Duplex I can trade you, if you like? Can be mod'd for other services.
  6. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    im not sure what that even does TBH...:)
  7. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    It's all good. Everyone has to learn at some point, right? :)

    It's a DSL Modem/Switch/Router w/ Wireless b & g. I do believe it can be used as a regular switch, too.
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    what happened to where the modem ended up bricked?
  9. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Huh? I think you're confusing the duplex with the modem I was describing in the OP. Am I right? Or are you asking how I bricked the cable modem?
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    how did u brick the modem
  11. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Oh, funny story. It's not really bricked, per say. It just refuses commands from Ethernet. I flashed it. It worked great, until I rebooted it. Now, it just refuses to allow me back in :(.
  12. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    so maybe you could use the USB connection and flash back?
  13. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    USB drivers don't work for x64. Trust me when I say I've tried everything. :laugh:

    I don't even know if that would be possible.
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,120 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,612
    so you dont have anything other than the dsl thing for trade?
  15. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    Well, I have other hardware, but nothing that would justify a trade for a modem. I do have a nForce4 SLI LGA775 board from Gigabyte. But to trade for just a modem would be a bit off.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page