1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Some help with a new rig

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Rey17, Oct 18, 2007.

  1. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    thnx guys for all the help guys i really appreciate it. i am in australia, South Australia....
     
  2. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    hey crashnburn that is a very very good system and i wouldnt mind getting a system that you made for me. it is perfect for a boy like me, and it has everything that i need.

    but the link for the thermal paste is not working, but i have searched it and i dont really know what a thermal paste is for really ?? lol

    but the system is very very cool. !!!!!

    does a os mean operating system, if it does how can i put 2 operating systems on one computer. and isnt a operating system known as Windows Vista, or Windows XP ??


    and is the motherboard and the power supply compatible with each other................

    will the motherboard fit my case ??

    my case is a sunbeam transformers case - black

    link to the case : http://www.xoxide.com/sunbeam-transformer-case-black.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  3. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Ill answer everything you just said in the order in which you said it.

    Thank you. :) I am very happy with my rig. I will be even happier when I get a 45nm Penryn in my rig and crank out 4Ghz on air. :)

    The reason the link for the thermal paste isnt working is because it got screwed up. After the link, it was supposed to state "(Gotta get the thermal paste) and the "(gotta)" got incorporated into the link. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100007 That link should work for ya. Try and get that or something similar.

    The "OS" does in fact mean operating system. An operating system is a piece of software that pretty much tells your hardware what to do and how to act accordingly. In order to put two OS's onto yoru computer, you are going to need at least two hard drives. A hard drive for one OS and another hard drive for the other. Now what you are going to want to do is install the older of the two OS's first and the newer one last. Reason you do this is because if you do the newer first and older last, the older OS will screw up the other OS install on the other hard drive. Then you will have to start all over again and you dont want that.

    An OS is the following: Windows 98, 98SE, ME, 2000, XP, XP Media Center, Vista, Linux (all flavors), Mac OS, Linspire, etc.

    So long as the motherboard and PSU have a 24-pin power adapter, they are compatible.

    The motherboard will most likely fit your case as it is a standard ATX format motherboard and your case will accommodate that. I have that same case sitting in storage right now actually. :)

    Feel free to ask more questions if you have them.
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  4. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    thank you very very very much



    very very very helpfull !!!!!:D
     
  5. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    No problem. Just glad I could help.
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  6. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    so if i buy all these...... will it be ok i mean with the compatibility and size and everything ??
     
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    The stuff I picked out? Yeah. Of course. :D
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  8. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    thnx alot but would it be ok if i changed my 1st harddrive to a 150 gb and my ram to 4gb (2X2gb) and if i wait until the 1gb 8800 gtx comes out or should i just buy one gtx and later one i can make it a dual sli graphics card. ....if u can find some of these parts then thnx alot from the newegg website coz i know its cheap there. !!!!!!........

    does the mother board u reccomended allow dual graphics card ??

    is 8800 ultra better or gtx when it comes to normal use, like overclocking, FPS, gaming etc

    and which drive would be in use if i make a nrmal file on the desktop and put some music into it???? which drive would it use....

    which one is better for gaming windows vista or XP ????

    and yea thnx again !!!!


    lol im srry for askin boring questions but u know how i feel, i like comps and they are my life........lol
     
  9. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    You can change it however you see fit.

    Since I linked you to a motherboard that has a x38 chipset, it will not allow for SLi only Crossfire. However, you still CAN use a single nVIDIA card such as the 8800GTX.

    Im not aware of an 8800GTX 1GB card coming out. The differences between the 8800GTX and the Ultra are minimal. A slight overclock of the GTX could make it easily an Ultra spec card speed wise. I would just get the 8800GTX.

    These questions are not "boring", you are just someone who doesnt know the answers so you are seeking help in finding those answers. Nothing is wrong with that. :)

    For making a normal file on the desktop, that would end up using the C: drive which is what your OS would be installed on.

    If you want DX10, you are going to need Vista. If not, XP would suit you fine. Then again so would Vista. Youll probably get nay sayers coming on here saying how Vista sucks and this and that when it really doesnt. I have been using it for about a year now and it suits me just fine with games. And with a system that you are building, it wouldnt really make that much of a difference FPS wise anyway. So that option is up to you. However, I should mention that since you want 4GB of RAM, you will need a 64-bit OS. So if you went with XP, you would need to grab a copy of XP x64 which really doesnt have a whole lot of support (last I checked anyway) where as Vista x64 does. Just FYI.
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  10. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    some more questions.................

    what is the difference between crossfire and sli ??
     
  11. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    and can you find a different motherboard that is compatible with all the parts that u recommended for me but allows dual sli graphics cards. can you also find me a 160 gig hard drive that is compatible with the other motherboard (not the one you recommended)...

    but anyway i will be buying one graphics card (768 mb 8800gtx) but if later on i could add another one when there are games that need it.
     
  12. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    crossfire is ATI / Radeon

    SLI is Nvidia

    as far as i know thats the difference but im sure there are little things that depend on which card but its one format or the other like amd vs intel
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  13. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    your looking at this backwards, in your area the choices are very limited to what you can buy so pick what your going to buy in this order and only after you are sure you can buy it local and its in your budget.

    1 - decide on the cpu
    2 - then pick out a good motherboard that matches the cpu
    3 - then pick out the video card and ram memory that works with MB & cpu

    the hdd, dvd drive, case and everything else will not matter because they work with anything.
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  14. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    CrAsHnBuRnXp has a very good advice on hard drives, nowadays HDD's can get your system a real bottleneck.

    So make 2 drives in RAID 0 (RAID 0 is almost 2x of single drive speed) for system, documents and applications. In RAID 0 you don't loose any space, so with 2x80GB you get 160GB total and 2x speed ;) Anyway, you don't need too much space there so you can get any size from 80 to 250GB. Just remember - drives in RAID should be identical.

    Take another 2 drives in RAID 0 for games, you can also store your videos there as they don't run at the same time as your games do, besides you'll have plenty of space in this drive anyway :)

    Get a huge single disk (500GB) and run backups of your important data to it. Important data is documents, application settings, any valuable media that you can't get back from CD's or DVD's.

    This configuration is a luxury one indeed :toast:

    Oh and you'll need to learn how to use JKDefrag - it's your friend for keeping disks clean and speedy ;)
    Windows Backup utility will do all that it needs to put your important data on your backup disk. Even better - you could make your old PC as a backup server through the network, but that is probably too much trouble.



    Another, not so luxury setup would be to get 1 big disk for OS and store there all important data. Then get 2 moderate size disks in RAID 0 for your games and backups, just don't run your backup utility at the time you play games and use JKDefrag to move your backup files to the end of the physical disk (files closer to the center of the disk are accessed faster).
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  15. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    thnx man big help.....

    so actually RAID 0 is when you join 2 HDD and make them 1 ?? Right ??

    if yes then i have to buy 2 of the same kind to make it a RAID.
     
  16. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    and i found 2 motherboards that i think support Dual Sli Technology....

    but can u tell which one is better:

    EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard :

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813188013R


    ASUS Striker Extreme LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX The Ultimate Gaming Motherboard:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131074R

    one thing i can see is that in the EVGA mobo you can actually see that there are sound slots. but in the ASUS on you cant see any.

    so is that a problem or not ?

    and tell me if these motherboard are OC compatible.

    both of the motherboards have 2 X 16 pci slots for dual graphics and there is one extra that i dont know what it is used for.

    thanks Regards,

    Rey17
     
  17. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Yes.
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  18. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,530 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    I have the EVGA board you listed and I love it.

    What do you mean by "sound slots?" Do you mean PCI slots? If so, both boards have them.

    Any motherboard you buy on Newegg or the like will be able to OC. Some just better than others. If you want an OCer, get the ASUS board.

    The third PCIe slot on the ASUS board is just an extra.
     
    Rey17 says thanks.
  19. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    lol thats very good, thats why i have decided to get the EVGA mobo because it looks cool , lol, and both of the mobo are identical so there will be no problem with what to buy. i am not that much of a OCer. i will only oc the quad core to 3.0 ghz, the graphics card and problably the memory (not sure yet what is the difference between a normal memory and a OCed memory)

    one more thing:
    you forgot to answer one question, does the EVGA mobo allow Dual Sli graphics cards ??

    and the sound slots i mean are the on the picture marked as red.....
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yes, the EVGA board supports SLI.
     
  21. patton45

    patton45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    171 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    first off looks like you have some nice suggetions. i havent seen anyone here suggest a pc power a cooling psu with his budget it is the best power solution for a quad tripple or just sli set up. second i have the evga EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX and its a great board i have my e4500 ocd to 3.25ghz on stock volt with and zalman 9700led but i also have EVGA 122-CK-NF67-T1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i LT SLI ATX with an e4300 in it also with the 9700led with a lil volt mod im bakin at 3.6ghz they are both great board and great at oc i have seen some post about people and their reluctance on the lt chipset which i understand but after a battery of test i have found it to be just as good as it big brother or at least evga version. The difference is the lt is just sli the 680i board is TRIPPLE SLI Compatible that why it has three pci-e guys. also i would look in to 8800 gt's unless your like me and plan for tripple sli the 8800gt are dx10.1 cost effective and in sli will be a 20k 3dmark pc with a q6600 easily

    im workin on my rig right now with a q6700 and DFI LP UT NF680I LT SLI-T2 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i LT SLI i wish this board had the proc and dimm lay out of my dfi 590board. also thinkin of waitin for 9800s since i have 2 8800gtx now damn sounds werid i already have a 9800xt lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2007
  22. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    thnx guys

    and thnx patton45 for your info on the board.... i think its done, i will buy the EVGA mobo because everyone likes it and everyone has it.

    thanks guys.
     
  23. Woah Mama! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Just a quick question Rey17, how are you going to be getting $2,000 worth of computer parts from America? Last I checked NewEgg didn't ship down here. I know of some east coast vendors that would ship to SA, but it'll cost you.
     
  24. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    lol i didnt think of that but i might be buyin some stuff from ebay and some stuff like the mobo i might be buyin from the newegg and the quad core and some rams and graphics cards will be bought from the huge computer specialists.

    or i could ask the specialists that can they order the items and i will pay them face to face.

    yea i think i might be doing face to face.
     
  25. Rey17

    Rey17 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    221 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    hey guys long time,

    i just wanted to find out one thing

    where would the 2 graphics card go in this motherboard ?? and if your wondering this is the EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

    can you please label it so that it is easy for me 2 understand ??....

    thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page