1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some info for partial upgrade

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by techtard, Feb 7, 2013.

  1. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    I just ordered some new parts, and had a total brainfart.:banghead:
    I forgot to see if my existing PSU will power my upgraded build.

    Currently running an 15-2500K @5.0, and using a Corsair HX620 PSU.
    I just ordered a 7970 and some other parts, will my PSU be sufficient, or do I need to add a new PSU to my order?
     
  2. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    that psu is a good one so it should do just fine.
     
    techtard says thanks.
  3. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    263 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    You should be ok but you are cutting it close. If it wasn't a good brand PSU I would say get a better one.
     
    techtard says thanks.
  4. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Thanks guys, I will hold off ordering one and see how things go.
    Worst case Ontario, I will have to pop the Radeon out for a few days while waiting for a beefier PSU.
    :D

    EDIT
    Just got in some new toys, the 7970 seems to be running fine at stock. Will try pushing an overclock and see if the PSU can keep up.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page