1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some info with proccesors

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BXtreme, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ok, first a question. Why doesn't tomshardware enter the rest of the processors ??? E6300 and
    remaining A64 X2s ? It's confusing for me to find out where the proccies stand out :confused:
    And there's (maybe) no other cpu performance charts for AMD and Intel side-by-side, if there is , do tell me :D
    So, where does the stock E6x00 lie anyway in performance vs the X2's NOT listed in the tomshardware charts ? like where does the E6300 lie, where does E6400 lie and so on......
    Now that AMD has broken the price barrier ;) Comparison must've been changed by price/perf.
    Any help is appreciated :)
    p.s. last time I asked sorta like this and it got unanswered....nevermind, plz these questions now ;)
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    the e6300 is between the x2 3800+ and the x2 4200+ in gaming performance
    and sort of, so on, :)
  3. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ya, I would like to know the so on plz :)
    Tomshardware isn't updating them :(
  4. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Corrected.
  5. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    thx,... but what about the rest of the X2's 5200 and above :ohwell: , I know they're somewhere in between but where :confused: :cry:
  6. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    5200+ has a marginal gain on 5000+ because they'r both 2.6GHz but 5200+ has a larger L2 cache.
    5400+ would actually be faster than 5000+, 2.8GHz vs. 2.6GHz respectively.
  7. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Intel vs AMD pls :rolleyes:
    Like i'm going for 5200+ AM2 OR any1 above it, what would it be against the E6x00 line-up ?
  8. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    5200+ would be a little bit faster than E6400 but clearly slower than E6600.
  9. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I'm spending $200 on it, which proccie should i get, intel/amd whatever...
    so what do you guys think ?
  10. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    Go to xtremeforums and look at the superpi records, you should be able to see where each chip lies, since most of the variants are almost identical..

    If you could afford it all, the Core 2 Duo systems are faster, and overclock even better. If you want a considerably cheaper, yet almost as good setup, go with a cheap x2 AM2 processor.
  11. little geek New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    194 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    cambridge, england, shed :)
    this is some thing that cheeses me no one benchmarks older 478 cpu's like the northwoods,no fair for 478, intel users!! i always end up with the cpu nobody wants!
  12. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    BXtreme,
    Wait until the C2D price drop comes into effect.
    You'll get a E6600 for a little bit over $200 within this month.
  13. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    hm, I'll look for E6600 then :)
    Btw, where does 5600+ stand out vs c2d ?
  14. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    5600+ = 2.8GHz = 5400+.
    5600+ has a larger cache which makes it slightly faster.
  15. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    nevermind :), 5600+ is in Tomshardware. It's almost the same average in performance :)
    Games=same, Photoshop=E6600 leads, iTunes=5600+ leads.
    But overall, E6600 seems to be a better option :)
    But I was going for the K9N Diamond.....where am I going to find a 775 alternative for that :(
    I have the asus p5b in an E6300 @ stock as my 2nd rig, the AMD ones I was thinking was to substitute it ...
    any suggestions for the mobo (775) :) ?
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2007
  16. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    P5B Deluxe and Abit QuadGT are very good boards for E6600.
    If you want something different you might wan't to try DFI 975X/G.
  17. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    How is this setup (not sure though if I can get 'em but i'll try :()
    E6600
    DFI Lanparty UT ICFX3200-T2R

    I don't want to do uber overclocking atm, so maybe be this may strike out :)
  18. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    looks good if you're going to buy the r600 later :)
    and how uber overcloking re yu going to?
    water, phase, n2o? :D
  19. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    @ gfx = 8800GTS 320mb
    @ Overclocking = Not now :D cpl of months l8er when water cooling will get cheaper lol.
    I want to see the true power of a higher conroe at the stock first, then oc it l8er ;)
    :ohwell: Hope I do get these this month :D Will these be @least satisfactory, i.e keep the taste ?
  20. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    if you're going for nvidia why not get a board with i680 chipset?
  21. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    prices.....
  22. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    newegg not working
  23. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  24. BXtreme

    BXtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    WTF MY AVATAR TOO! :mad:
  25. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    DFI ICFX3200-T2R has one problem: AMD RD600

    It's slower and more expensive than i975X.
    And I hear it's a pita to OC.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page