1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some serious help overhere (9800SE)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by avenger, Apr 12, 2006.

  1. avenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  2. Quickywd01 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That means that your card is overclocked too much. Turn down the speed(s).
  3. avenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How?:eek:
    Sorry i'm not that good with PC's
  4. Quickywd01 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Get ati tool. It allows you to oc and also test your speeds. It's great for learning. Just don't turn up the speeds as far as the slider can go. http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/ATITool_0.24.exe Oh and if your not good with pc's you should at least read a few articles about overclocking os that you don't burn up that card.
  5. avenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I slide the 2 sliders down and still I get the dots.. >.<
  6. Quickywd01 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you click set clock?
  7. avenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea
  8. Quickywd01 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Maybe your new drivers are causing the problem. Did you get the correct ones?
  9. avenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I downloaded the softmodded (opened 4 pipelines) ati catalyst 6.3, nothing more nothing less :S
  10. Quickywd01 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well then I have no idea, as you can see by my thread under yours I am trying to overclock my card too. I have just been here for 2-3 days, read the bios flash article, the 9550-9600 bios flash article so I don't know enough to help you troubleshoot this issue. But I do know that when you see dots or yellow stuff that means that it is overclocked too much.
  11. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Since you don't know about overclocking it is fair to say that your card is not experiencing the errors as a result of overclocking. Since underclocking still produces the same errors, it means that your extra pipelines have been rendered unusable in some fashion cannot be unlocked, and that the errors are most likely not a result of excess heat. When using softmoded drivers it is important to take into accounts statements like, "The softmod enables the four disabled rendering pipelines in the GPU core of Radeon 9500 Non-Pro/9800 SE cards. Patched drivers for Catalyst 3.10 and later also enable overclocking for all Radeon 9000/9200/9550/9600 based cards." This statement is from the softmodded drivers found on this site. If your card does not meet this criteria than no advantage can be gained. So which card are you using, and where did you get the softmodded drivers?
  12. D_o_S

    D_o_S Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    979 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I think you unlocked some faulty pipelines... reinstall with standard catalyst drivers, and your problems should go away.
  13. avenger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I installed the normal catalyst 6.3 (not softmodded), the dots are away, but in games (like WoW and CS) I have a fps reduce compared to the softmodded version (with dots).. weird stuff :p

    My card is a ATI Radeon 9800 SE
  14. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    That makes since. Even though the pipelines were damaged they were still getting some use. So even though you were getting errors your FPS would be higher. The same thing happens when you overclock. If you take it high enough you can get some really high framerates, but you get errors, so you clock it down to where it is stable.
  15. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    yeah, I bet those pipes are not usable...Only other way you can get those dots to go away is to invest in a huge VGA cooler and RAMsinks. One more thing! If the card isn't getting enough power, it will have a lower possible overclock, so make sure you have a big enough PSU/a direct connection to the card.
  16. Radon New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Africa
    Hey dude I've also got a 9800se wich I softmodded until today. The chances that a card like mine or yours could softmod succesfully is 50/50. your a bit unlucky. yours doesnt allow it but lucky for me mine does. I hard modded mine to a pro. I would advise you to stay away from that because that is a mod wich is almost irreversable and would seriusly damage your card.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page