1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NEED the most powerful card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by handydagger, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. handydagger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi guys, I'm one of the lazy guys out there. I know this may be wired to everyone here. I recently purchased cheap AMD Sempron CPU 1100@1.9 :toast: addition to that I bought as well Cheapest motherboard I could find in my local Market with Strange name "Elite Group motherboard" I even can't read the model name on it I think it's "MCP61S".

    addition to that I have pair of DDr2 2gb Kingston Hyper memory@1066mhz I purchased in past guessing max speed can reached 800mhz on that motherboard.

    Now in last but not the end, I'm seeking to slap on it The most Powerful High end card out there, I'm going btw new Motherboard+CPU after few months. :confused:

    any advice....
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What is your budget, where are you located? At this time the most powerful card is an HD4870. Won't be available for another week and half. IMHO, get the cpu/motherboard before the video card.

    EDIT:Corrected HD4850
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2008
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm with JR here. An ECS motherboard and a Sempron cpu and you want a high end graphics card? Kinda like putting a high end sound system in a Pinto. It's just not right. Not to mention your card will be bottlenecked, limiting it's potential. Get yourself a much better cpu/MB/power supply before you talk high end cards.
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Please fill out your system specs...it will help us to help you.
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    bad idea man, the cpu will be a huge bottleneck for the 4870x2 (most powerful card coming out in like 2 weeks)
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    lol is this a joke? Just asking.

    If you want the fastest card now, go for the GeForce 9800 GX2. If you can wait, wait for HD4870 X2...make note of that.
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    Probably you'd reach the same performance with a 9600GT as with the HD4870.

    No offence pal, just so you see the analogy, with a 1.9Ghz Sempron adding an HD4870 is like putting F1 racing wheels on a tractor... it'd be a waste of money.:(
    manufans0607 says thanks.
  8. handydagger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Open budget...
    I'm going to swap the CPU and motherboard on later date, I'm waiting for DDR3 AMD motherboard

    current System
    AMD Semporn@1.9 GHZ single core
    Motherboard MCP615, PCIE 16x single slot
    RAM 2 gb DDr2 Kingstone
    HD 200 GB WD7200 Normal IDE
    =============
    tell AMD support DDR3 I'm going to swap but for the time being I'm seeking the highest card, in further system will look like quad core AMD + DDR3 motherboard memory when it's available.

    and thanks for the fast replies guys
  9. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    Where are you going find a AMD board that supports DDR3? The only one's I know of are just DDR2.

    Since your wanting a AMD system. I would go with this

    9850 Quad
    HD 4850, If you can wait longer; go for the 4870x2. But for now 3870x2 is the best your going get.
    2Gb DDR2- Which I seen you have
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So in other words, you are trying to future proof your graphics and wait for ddr3? I can understand the graphics part to an extent. But wait for ddr3? WHY?!


    Pickup a 8800GS/HD3850, have fun, be merry.
  11. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
  12. handydagger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    no offense guys, but don't you think 4870x2 or 9800gx2 will perform better than 9600 or 8800 gs on such system.

    I think new GFX GPU is not CPU dependent.... :confused:
  13. handydagger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1


    Nice boards but no support for DDr3, and amd won't do it until mid of 2009, seems I'm forced to go for intel :banghead:
  14. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    They ARE dependant on the rest of the system, even mroe so now, games have greater support for multi-core processors, and so without one, you might not get the full speed from the GPU.

    What they mean is, you might get a small boost with your current setup, when looking at the difference between a 9600GT and a 9800GH2, it's impossible to think otherwise, but for the money, and considering you'll be keeping your current setup for a while (don't expect AMD to support DDR3 for a good few months yet), you're better off with a cheaper card, and saving up and waiting until prices crash, and AMD brings out their new equipment.

    Oh, and I'm unsure as to why you want to go DDR3 right now, unless you have a stick or two waiting to be used. As with DDR2, it'll take time until DDR3 prices come down, and speeds go up. I am going to be waiting patiently. If you NEED to have DDR3 right now, Intel is your only option.
  15. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Hmm, I agree. A sempy with an ECS on a high end card is the huge bottleneck. I suggest saving more money and getting some decent/high end cpu/mb's first then go on to the harder parts.
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,252 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,585
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Too bad, there never will be a DDR3 AMD motherboard for your current CPU. Even if does, you can't use your processor on it, it lacks a DDR3 IMC.
  17. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    If you're wanting to use DDR3 RAM you will need an Intel based system with the appropriate motherboard because AMD currently does not support DDR3, and not all Intel motherboards support DDR3.
    But, if you're talking about GDDR3 on the graphics card, almost any system (AMD, Intel, VIA etc.) will support it.

    Oh, I almost forgot, the fastest video card you can get right now is the 9800GX2. Although I would recommend just getting two 9600GT's or two 3870's and running them in SLI or CrossFire (cheaper, and good performance)

    With your current setup though, you will need a new CPU, Motherboard, and Power Supply if you're wishing to take full advantage of todays mid-range/high-end graphics cards.
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2008
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i would get some axeram, a good 790fx board and a phenom to work with the gpu's mentioned in this thread (9800x2, 4870x2, etc.)

    gpus are getting more and more cpu dependent a cpu like a sempron will be a huge bottleneck to the graphics card.
  19. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    +1 AGREE :toast:
  20. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'm with most of the people here.. Well, all the people, but at different ways... DDR3 is only going to be able for Intel right now until the new AMD boards come out.. But that will be a LONG way away. Future proofing is sometimes the best thing to do, but not all ways the easiest thing. You will soon find that its better to make it a part by part thing that lasts sometimes longer then 6 months to do.
    Then for the BEST CARD... If you plan on getting anything for the system you have... The 79xx series of Nvida, or the h2xxx series from ATI is probably the best bet for you. The system is going to have a HUGE bottleneck that your just going to want to go crazy about. Then from that you can go piece by piece.. You'll find if staying on TPU a lot of members that would love to buy the old parts to build download/Htpc computers. That way you can get somewhat of your money back for what you spent..
    I could never tell a person with your specs to go out and buy my card... IMHO
  21. v-zero Guest

    DDR3=fail.
  22. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I'm not sure why you would want to go DDR3, especially since AMD doesn't plan on adding DDR3 compatibility until the AM3 socket.
  23. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    latency and timings on ddr3 are high youd be better getting one of the high 1xxxmhz+ddr2 sticks 2x2gb should be good for dual channel leave room for another 2 sticks if you wanted

    the card is cpu dependent because the cpu also does a lot of the work look at it this way if you turn all the graphics settings to max in say bioshock the card will be able to handle the graphics but the cpu wont be able to keep up so the frames per second would be low

    all that physics and other processing has to be done by the cpu so if you dont have a good cpu in the first place getting a good card would be useless because the old cpu cant keep up


    for a new cpu you defo want a quad core black edition phenom and a good motherboard for overclocking they arnt that bad pretty good cpu once you get past ghz and up

    either that or a whole new intel system

    right now id get a rubbisher card to suffice save they money for a new board and cpu

    am3 will be the ddr3 compatible socket right now no amd sockets support ddr3


    Normaly what we do is add turbo chargers to our cars eg overclock but what you want to do is add new a Engine Block to an already crappy engine.
  24. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    I would build a whole new computer :)

    If we have the same definition of "open budget", then wait for the next gens' highest-end cards.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,535 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,934
    Do you have to use AMD?! There are plenty of awesome Intel mobo's and chips out right now, some of which use DDR3, and prices aren't too bad either. I would suggest you upgrade the rest of your system along with a video card. Wait a couple weeks on the video card purchase as well, as both Nvidia and ATi are about to release thier new cards.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page