1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need to sort out Mobo for Build, last component b4 BUY :D

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GLeN, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I overlooked the mobo in my build and today i was going to buy mysetup then luckily relised the lack of attention I gave to it. So finally if i get this sorta i will have my first build in my grasp :respect: So just browsing through the same site Im ordering the majority of my parts from I found this. Honestly I dont have a clue what each means:laugh: Basically i want it to be lower than £80gbp around 60-70 is more comfortable. I dont care about sli, It will be used via ethernet cable so wifi isnt a factor. I willbe using a core 2 duo cpu that will be ocd, will be upgrading to quad core soon though, will be using 800mhz ballistix ram wantto oc them too :rockout:. thanks as much of i can think right now. Im not limited to that site but any uk or ireland site would do me fine. If i get this sorted i will be buying everything except vid card and ram this week :laugh:

    Thanks in advance guys, Happy new year!

    Asus P5N-E SLI 650i £66.36
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/125082/
    http://www.hothardware.com/viewarticle.aspx?articleid=925&cid=3

    ASUS P5K-VM AiLifestyle £70.16
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/132097

    ASUS P5KC AiLifestyle Series £72.62
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/132275

    ASUS P5K AiLifestyle Series £68.58
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/129125

    Gigabyte GA P35C DS3R £77.81
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/131173

    Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 £70.33
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/136363


    ABIT AB9 Pro iP965 £79.99
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/116163
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    any chance in getting the dfi blood iron?
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  3. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    well in general, with dfi, you gotta know your way a bios preety well. if thats not the case, you're better off with the

    Gigabyte GA P35C DS3R £77.81
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/131173

    as long as you dont plan on using 4 gigs of memory.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  5. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    GLeN says thanks.
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'm running the Gigabyte DS3R in my primary rig and the DFI Blood Iron in my second. Both are great boards. Gigabyte is awesome when it comes to stability. DFI has the best tweaking bios in the business. So many choices to fine tune, but it does take some time to get used to it.
     
    oli_ramsay and GLeN say thanks.
  7. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I was planning to upgrade to 4 gigs later on? Why what will happen :eek:

    As for the blood iron, i seem to want to stay as far a way from the bios at first haha
     
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  9. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    what will happen i run that board whit 4gig of ram and no problem here
    but can u plzz tell me thx
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  10. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans

    ASUS P5K AiLifestyle Series £68.58
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/129125

    Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 £70.33
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/136363


    either of these two would be a good choice but i prefer the Gigabyte
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  11. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    AFAIK the ASUS P5KC and the GA P35C boards are both for ddr3 ram only unless you limit it to only 2 slots? at least thats the way i understood it in the specs from manufacturer. all 4 slots can use ddr3 but only 2 can run ddr2.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
    GLeN says thanks.
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    gigabyte bios's currently have a flaw which causes the board to not work very well with 4 gigs of ram, especcially wiht a 64 bit OS, so if you wanted to use 4 gigs of ram, especcially with a 64 bit os, the bios may give you some trouble. HOWEVER, gigabyte is working on a bios update which should fix the problem. so unless if you're getting 4 gigs of ram atm, i'd say stick with 2 for now, and get 4 once the bios update comes out.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  13. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  14. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    GLeN says thanks.
  15. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Okay, out of all the motherboards I'd purchse the GA P35 DS3 Rev 2.0. Reason being that this board is VERY stable and is a massive overclocker. Moreover on the other boards; GA P35 DS3P, etcetra. The Crossfire setup is not a 16x by 16x but a 16x by 4x thanks to the P35 chipset limitations, thus even AMD said that crossfire is rather hampered with 16x by 4x.

    Lets have a look, the P35C DS3R compared to the P35 DS3. First off the P35C DS3R isn't much of a stellar overclocker, it brings two more JMircon SATA two ports and an extra set of DDRIII slots. However, it's not much of an overclocker thanks to the chipset supporting more than usual; meaning that stability suffers. The board can only do around 450FSB, which is rather low for a P35 board. Now, we look at the P35 DS3, its basically the same board without those features which are rather useless in my opinion, do you really need an extra two SATA ports when you already have six? Do you really need DDRIII when its extremely expensive? I don't think so and even 8 quid can do a lot. Therefore go with the GA P35 DS3.
    Err with what you save, I'd get something like a new tube of thermal paste, or some case fans.

    Hes in UK if you didnt notice.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  16. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i did notice, i use newegg so that i could show him the specs of multiple gigabyte p35 boards side by side.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  17. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Its clearly out of his price range btw, and as I said, crossfire is a rather redundant premium that he probably wont come around to using.
     
    GLeN says thanks.
  18. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I'd reduce the motherboard budget by half, spend £40 on a motherboard and spend the extra £40 saved on a better processor or graphics card version.
     
  19. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    you obviously don't overclock
     
  20. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  21. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I overclock on a budget:laugh:
     
  22. Pikem4n

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Hi guys

    I am bidding on a GA-P35C-DS3R motherboard (currently winning atm!) and i have read some pretty negative feedback about the said board, which has kind of put me off the board now so my question is - what is the main issue with it and is it a wise move to buy it?

    Pikeman.
     
  23. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I read one review, and it scored well - Suppose it has all the key features, supports dual and quad core and both DDR2 and DDR3. Whether it's good depends on what you want to achieve with it.

    http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/view.php?id=2326&cid=6&pg=9
     
    Pikem4n says thanks.
  24. Pikem4n

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    37 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Hi darren

    Yeah i have checked the reviews, and it seems a pretty damn good mobo on paper, but i have seen that alot of people who have bought this board, have had somekind of problem with booting the system and , i am going to build a system solely to play games on and nothing else, it is kind of worrying that if i buy the board (especially off ebay) that it wont work properly.

    Just hoping someone outbids me as i am still the winning bidder- i am really put off by these negative comments i see lol
     
  25. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Stop bidding. Try to find the same board or better elsewhere from a computer retailer, that way you get full warranty.
     
    Pikem4n says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page