1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need Ubuntu on weak PCs

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by mafia97, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Hi guys,
    I have to install ubuntu on my college PCs. The configuration is as follows,
    CPU - pentium 4 D
    RAM - 512MB
    MOBO- intel orignal with no integrated GPU.

    SO i have some things I need your help with :
    1) which ubuntu version shall i install on these weak PCs, shall i install 11,12 or 13 or shall i go for 9?
    2) while doing fresh install of ubuntu , how shall i change the swap area, and how much shall it be(I am thinking 2gb)?
    3) which filesystem shall i use, i think ext3 is default, but still recommend me the file system.
    4) can file system and swap area be changed in already installed ubuntu?
    These are the main questions i have.
    The applications i am thinking to run on these PCs are :
    1)codeblock
    2)gpp(included in codeblock)
    3)eclipse
    4)netbeans

    Thank you
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,000 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,395
    try the latest on one machine, go with default settings. it should work rather well.
    mafia97 says thanks.
  3. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I forgot to mention , i did install ubuntu 11.10 on two PCs and ubuntu 12 on one PCs, the PC did slow up after a while of use.
    For example when i was installing the package of codeblock, there was huge amount of lag in clicking the check mark and the check box actually being ticked
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,000 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,395
    well, is installing packages going to be a common thing? wont they bet set up and then just left alone?


    doesnt really matter the OS, if you're using modern programs on old hardware, its gunna slow down sooner or later.
  5. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    The programs I said in my above post are necessary , they need to be installed.Yup i agree new programs on old machines never work well.
    Packages would be installed rarely after the initial setup
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,000 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,395
    if it doesnt lag after the install is done, then i'd say stick with the latest. it gives them a longer lifespan and better support.
  7. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    So you are recommending 13 ubuntu?
    I think i will stick with ubuntu 11 for a while , just to test.
    Can you tell how to change swap area on an already installed ubuntu version or is this not possible
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,000 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,395
    not an expert on ubuntu - i'd say try the latest one one machine and see how it goes. try and keep them all on the same version at least.
  9. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    The machine which has 12 runs the worst out of all three, i cant imagine what 13 will do.
    Hope a expert will reply soon.
    Can you tell which file system to use ext3 or something else?
    ANd thanks for all the help till now :)
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,000 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,395
    EXT3 is a decent file system. go with it.


    you can read it in windows without much trouble if need be as well.
  11. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,538 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    512 ram is gonna lag. Tried SUSE on a Tualatin Celeron 1,2 and GF440MX not so long ago and it worked really badly.
  12. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I need fast access times , does EXT3 provide that ? or shall i shift to something else ?
  13. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,538 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    mafia97 The file system type does not affect access time.
  14. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Okay then i shall stick with ext3 :)
    but how to change the swap area ?
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,000 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,395
    it should ask you when you install the OS. its a partition and not a file, so i dont think its easy to change post install. leave it at default, imo.
  16. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Oh okay , but wont increasing swap area size make the PC a little more fluid ?
  17. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,538 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    No. Tweaking swap files is generally a bad idea. Let the OS decide.

    Again. In my opinion its a waste of time what you are trying to do. With 512MB memory, a modern linux running JAVA based IDE is gonna be a killer for that PC. Its gonna freeze itself on starting KDE/Gnome.
    Go with winXP and some more memory.
  18. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Not my PCs , my college LAB PCs, so icant increase memory or anything.And i have to make lab opensource , so i need ubuntu
  19. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,595 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Chevalr1c and mafia97 say thanks.
  20. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    Okay , this is good idea, now i need to know will it run the apps i want ?
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,415 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Depends on what apps you want, it has the same repositories as Ubuntu if that's what you mean. Personally I've had issues with Lubuntu in the past on all sorts of machines (mainly it being slow). I'm a bigger fan of Xubuntu. Try them out thought, can't hurt. :)
    Chevalr1c and mafia97 say thanks.
  22. mafia97

    mafia97

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I just want to run the apps i have mentioned in my first post on a system mentioned in the first post.tell me the best linux OS to run these.
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,415 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    They are all there in the packet manager.

    EDIT: Installing atm to see if they work. At least codeblocks, that I know how to use. :)

    EDIT again: Tested Codeblocks and Netbeans, both working. For Codeblocks I had to update the package index before one package got installed (probably a localization error somewhere, it tried to download it from a swedish server that didn't exist), and install g++ separetly but that too is in the packet manager so it was no problem.
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
    mafia97 says thanks.
  24. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,977 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I would use Xubuntu 12.04 LTS for a machine with only 512Mb of ram. I recommend using the alternate installer as well since 512Mb might not be enough to install and boot from a live cd.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,145 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I agree he should us Ubuntu 12.04.2 LTS 32bit version. It's a long-term support release (April 2017). Also, it only needs 384mb Ram to install. The 64bit version needs 512mb to install and that won't leave him any room to move around.. hehehe :toast:

    EDIT: Wait I didn't see Xubuntu.. lol but yea I'd get the Xubuntu over just plan Ubuntu for that system. The new interface my slow down that system. Xubuntu is just a trimmed down Ubuntu with Xfce. Xfce looks more like windows and is an easier desktop. :toast:
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
    mafia97 and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page