1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nehalem Clocks and "Turbo Mode"

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by virtualrain, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. virtualrain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I recently blogged the following article and I'm interested in your opinion...

    Thoughts?
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,896 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,061
    Location:
    Ohio
    Turbo mode huh... we're going back to the old days. OMGTURBOBUTTON!!1!!111!!1!!One!1uno!!o11
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    This is different tho lol.
    It clocks back some cores to clock forward others.

    In the old days it clocked back the entire cpu fsb.
    I remember playing with that button all day and wondering why it never made a difference to my old win95 games lol.
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    I know exactly how you felt haha, I had a computer exactly like that, turbo button and all :cool:
  5. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    God I miss that turbo button, I wish modern computer had that, it was just so cool. Although I never turned it off. :p
  6. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    My old 286 was a pro overclocker. At the push of the turbo button went from a moderate 8mhz to a blistering 12. 50% baby ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page