1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Network Bridge connection dropping

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Krafter, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. Krafter New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Hey guys, well I had to bridge my wireless and ethernet connections so I could get on xbox live...(after hours of trying to get it working discovered I needed to force Promiscuous mode for it to work).

    Well anyway it works online (both xbox and PC) but the bridge seems to keep loosing it's connection every 10 - 30mins, thus not allowing me to do much on live (obviously can't play any online games).

    Well, setups like this...

    modem
    |
    wireless router
    |------|
    PC / other PCs
    |
    xbox 360

    Any ideas? Also the Wireless connection constantly shows as disconnected.
  2. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    How does the wireless connection work without the bridge?
  3. Weigy104 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    242 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Glasgow
    cant you just plug your xbox360 into your wireless router via ethernet cable? or is your pc connected to the router wirelessly? if so im sure you can set up an ICS connection which is pretty easy to setup and get going.
  4. Krafter New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Sorry, the Wireless connection now shows as connected, but it is still dropping (all yesterday was shown as not connected, but the Internet was still working).

    Well, my modem and wireless only have one Ethernet slot each, plugged into each other. I have 6 computers all in different rooms of the house, so it's too hard to use cables... Because of this setup I can't use ICS so I have to settle for a bridge (and have to force compatibility Promiscuous mode because my Internet won't work if I don't) and a crossover cable from my PC to Xbox next to it.

    I would just buy wireless for my Xbox but it's way expensive...
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    This would work perfect Krafter!

    Check it out!

    EDIT: Didnt notice you dont live in the states! Sorry bout that .....

    Look for an access point that supports WDS bridging.
  6. Krafter New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Alright thanks will do...

    Also one thing, on my Xbox when I test connection, it says my NAT is strict thus somewhat limiting me from joining some games and chatting with some people. Any way I can 'loosen' it?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page