1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Network monitoring utility needed.

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Lazzer408, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    What's a good utility for monitoring what application or service is using my network?

    OS=XP pro.
  2. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
  3. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    I found Wireshark but I have no idea how to use it. I don't see an application list anywhere.

    I need something more like task manager with network usage shown like the cpu load is in task manager. Anything simple like that you are aware of?
  4. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    I do not, sorry. :(
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    netlimiter has what you need, its got issues with windows 7, but as you need it for XP you're all set :)
    Lazzer408 and kuroikenshi say thanks.
  6. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    Mmmm, that is pretty snazzy. Now if only it could be made into a Windows 7 gadget/widget.
  7. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    THANK YOU!

    It's avgnsx.exe banging away at my network. Damn you AVG!

    I'll have to see what exactly this file is for.
  8. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Avast antivirus?
  9. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    It was part of AVG's link scanner. It had at least 40-50 connections open and yapping away. I swear I disabled that during AVG's setup. I was able to disable it from the AVG interface.

    PROBLEM SOLVED!!

    Thank you Mussels. Australia returns the favor! -woot- (long story)
  10. Jacko28 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    You could always use the command prompt.

    new line: netstat -b 2 then you can see how many damn avg.exes are clogging your network :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page