1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Network Tools 2

Discussion in 'General Software' started by FordGT90Concept, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    [​IMG]

    Requires .NET Framework 2.0 or newer.

    Functions:
    • DNS Record - Gets domain information for an IP or domain name.
    • DNS Resolve - Gets IP information for a domain name.
    • Intranet Scan - Scans for other computers on the same class C network.
    • Ping - Requests a response from a given IP address.
    • Port Scan - Checks if a TCP handshake is accepted at a given IP address and port number.
    • Trace Route - Requests every address that handles the packet respond identifying which nodes the packet hits in transit to a final destination.
    • Whois - Attempts to get domain, nameserver, or registrar information.

    Features:
    • Save Settings - Speeds up usage of the application by saving and loading previous settings.
    • Export - Saves results to TXT, CSV, HTML, or XML file formats.
    • Document Printer - Prints the results to a spooler.
    • Performance - This application is heavily multithreaded resulting in generally much faster queries than alternatives.

    Credits:
    • Dig.Net by Alphons van der Heijden

    Version History:
    2.0.2 - IP Address column under Intranet Scan is now handled as an IP Address rather than a string resulting in proper sorting. IPv6 support is untested.
    2.0.1 - Fixed a few bugs with Intranet Scan and added a "ShowTimedOut" option.
    2.0.0 - Original release.
    1.7.0 - Discontinued version.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
    [I.R.A]_FBi and DrPepper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Wow, it's been a week with no suggestions. XD
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I suggest we rewrite the whole app in 3D using DirectX ... just for the practice. :D
     
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    :eek: Practice would be good though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Suggestions !!!

    Can we get the intranet scan to do the following:
    1) List IP Address in numerical order
    2) List IP Addresses that are not in use, perhaps denoted by a hostname of "--------"
    3) Enter a hostname of "Unknown" for IP Addresses that are found but not Windows devices.

    You didn't think you were done with NetTool yet, did you? :p


    Edit: I also forgot to mention that if you select a specific address (say 10.10.10.1) and it find a machine, it outputs the information. If you then select another address (say 10.10.10.2) which is not in use, the original info from the first address does not get cleared from the output pane.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    1) Click on the column header to make it sort. I can't do numerical because of IPv6 (128-bit). That won't fit in the memory space of any of the sort-core code. If you want to look through the code and see if you can find a solution, more power to ya. The code that falls flat is under SortListView.getSortableListviewColumnHeader (in SortListView.cs).

    2) I added a ShowTimedOut option. When enabled, it is very likely the GUI will lock up for a few seconds as it gets bombarded with hundreds of update requests.

    3) Done.

    4) There was a bug there that now shows an error message in the Note area of the screen if the network adapter is not available.

    I'll upload it soon...
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Of course you can sort IPv6! Here is the format of IPv6 for any thread readers: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPv6

    [​IMG]

    Chop it up. First sort on the lowest 32 bits. Then sort on the lower-mid 32 bits. Then sort on the upper-mid 32bits. Then sort on the upper 32 bits. Easy f'in peasy. You high level coders arent thinking nitty gritty.
     
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I wish it were that simple. Comparing IPv6 to IPv6 and IPv4 to IPv4 is simple enough. The problem is comparing IPv6 to IPv4 and visa versa. I can't find any good documentation how to do any of this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    does this do a reverse DNS lookup?
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Yes, DNS Resolve tab and type in an IP Address.

    e.g. 209.85.225.106 (a Google address) -> iy-in-f106.1e100.net


    I also added IP Address sorting (proper) but because I don't have an IPv6 router, I can't verify IPv6 works, especially with Intranet Scan. I'll get it up soon.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    when it goes to resolve does it just execute a shell command or do you have a specific dns you check?
     
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It uses the .NET Framework's .GetHostEntry(). I suspect it uses the DNS servers configured to your machine/network.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    oh ok thanks!
     
  14. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What exactly do you mean by comparing them. Why would you have to compare them to each other?
     
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Because in an intranet setting, both can be present, no? I mean, when someone does a scan, they want to find IPv6 and IPv4 devices, not just either or.

    What I did in this latest build is put IPv4 and IPv6 into a 16 byte array where IPv4 has the last 12 bytes blank. It then goes from 0-15 checking for which is is greater and lesser. The moment it finds one, it breaks and returns the value (-1, 1). If none are found, it retuns 0 (match).

    The problem is, I don't know if the way I lined it up is even appropriate for IPv6. I also don't know what would the considered the lowest range to perform an intranet scan in IPv6.

    When IPv6 is enabled on my machine, it only ever finds itself, no other computers. There is clearly a problem there. What I really need is a screenshot of an Intranet with at least two IPv6 devices and at least one IPv4 device.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Clement

    Clement New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    SouthEast Blue Mountain, Pa
    Rewrite it so I don't need .Net and I can run it on any operating system (almost) :eek:
     
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If you are running it on Linux, try Mono. Mac support won't happen. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Clement

    Clement New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    SouthEast Blue Mountain, Pa
    Thanks for the tip; it was just a suggestion to widen your audience and arsenal of skills, I have no real need for this tool.

    Lots of anti Mac users around here :cry: :eek:
     
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,596 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,519
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'm not going to abandon .NET and no one has ported .NET to Apple so that's why Mac support won't be available.

    Mono is untested but if someone encounters issues with it, I'll certainly try to fix it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Clement

    Clement New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    SouthEast Blue Mountain, Pa
    To each his own. I suppose my environment is what defines my requirements. Then I get insanely loyal sometimes to my own dismay (I do not use anything .Net) :ohwell:.
     
  21. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I love it :)
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  22. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Great tool this. Thanks Ford. Been using it again today. +1 [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page