1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Networking Madness!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by sonnytiger, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    So here is my story, I have my main machine whitch has a wifi card and the standard built-in gigabit ethernet. I get my internet connection from the wifi card. I have another computer with just built in Ethernet as well, My main machine is running windows 7 x64 and the other computer is running XP x86 I want to be able to connect my main machine to my ethernet switch and the other computer to the ethernet switch and be able to get internet on the spare computer.

    Now here are the issues:

    1. How do i set up the spare computer to get the internet connection from my main machine?

    2. Whenever i connect the ethernet cable to my main machine all my programs (firefox, pidgin, steam, ect) try and connect to the internet through the ethernet connection, but there isn't a internet connection present there only throught the wifi card. How do i fix this so that even if i plug my ethernet cabe lin it will still try and connect to the internet through the wifi card?

    3. I also go to my fathers on the weekend and i get my intrenet through ethernet there so i need to be able to switch back and forth preferably automatically.
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    If I got this right, you want your setup to look like:

    teh Webz -> "WLAN" (is there a router/switch present??) -> Main system through WLAN -> Secondary system through wired from the main system.

    Because that's just bad planning. Why not connect the secondary system to a router?
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,044 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,107
    Go into your Wireless Adapter's properties, there should be a "sharing" tab.

    Enable sharing, select the ethernet connection in the drop down box.

    Plug the cables from each computer into the switch.

    Enjoy the internet on the second machine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    heres a diagram to mt predicament, I want to accomplish two things:
    [​IMG]
    1) connect to the internet with the spare computer
    2) Make my main machine stop trying to connect to the internet through my wired connection
     
  5. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    [​IMG]
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  6. andrew123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    On the spare machine you will need to give it an ip address, say 192.168.0.2/24, give it the default gateway address of 192.168.0.1, set up your spare maching to get it's DNS information from the DNS server your ISP provides you, then cable the spare machines ethernet into the switch, cable the switch into your main pc's gigabit port, assign that interface ip address 192.168.0.1/24. Your WiFi interface will have an address provided to it from either your ISP or internally through a soho/router, assuming your WiFi has ip address 192.168.1.2 you will need to install some sort of RIP routing (or I think on windows it's called internet connection sharing) to map all traffic destined from the 192.168.0.0 network to 192.168.1.0 network.

    This if course means that all your traffic, for your main PC and your spare PC are going to have to go through WiFi, which isn't exactly the most elegant solution. Sorry I couldn't provide you more information on how to configure your main machine to route traffic but the problem is that I'm not a windows user and I really don't know what software would work for such a purpose.

    Good luck :)
     
    sonnytiger says thanks.
  7. andrew123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    sonnytiger says thanks.
  8. ron732

    ron732

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    233 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    sonnytiger says thanks.
  9. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    Thanks guys, that was tons of help. :D
     
  10. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Personally, id recommend buying a usb wireless or pci card. They cost $30-$50, and will be much more reliable than ICS, or so I hear.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page