1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Never Overclocked CPU before

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by dai.gun, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. dai.gun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, I am new to overclocking and everything about it. I have never modified a CPU or any part of a computer throughout my whole life. However, I just recently bought my first Athlon system. While its pretty fast, I was wondering what it would be like if I can squeeze more horsepower out of it. This is what's inside my computer: (I listed everything because I don't know if that makes a difference)

    AsRock Dual Sata II
    AMD64 3000 Venice S939
    Radeon X700 Pro AGP 256 MB
    2x512 Kingston Value RAM
    485 WATT Power Supply
    Hauppage TV Tumor
    And a Linksys Wireless Card
    LG CD/DVD Burner

    Now I took a look at the BIOS. It's version 1.50. I see some people here are overclocking with a beta BIOS from OCW or BIOS 1.20. I don't know if having a different BIOS version limits your overclocking results but yeah. Any helps or tips would be appreciated.

    BTW I do know that the Pentium 4 units need FSBxMultiplier to increase speed. Athlon64 Units do not have this? Instead they have HTT. Can someone explain this to me in layman's terms?

    I would be happy if I can get this thing to 2.0 ghz! :) thanks
  2. Mr_Torch New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Messages:
    35 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is your MHz on the HTT?
  3. dai.gun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Since I have never touched anything, my HTT is in Auto. But My FSB is stuck at 200 I cannot increase it.

    I don't really know how overclocking on an A64 works. I heard its different from a P4 because of HTT. It's not as simple as FSB times Multiplier anymore.
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2005
  4. PanVulcon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have the a64 venice core 3000+ and run it on an nforce4 board which has ntune - nvidias overclocking tool; whilst it was overclcoking in auto mode i saw that it managed to change the fsb and multiplyer and even the pci \ agp bus speed; however in the end it said it couldnt be done; i thought the venice was ment to provide a good overclock but if nvidia cant get it right and the bios is locked then how do we overclock it?
  5. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    all amd 64 chips except the FX series are multiplyer locked.. they are supposed to go down (mine dosnt) but not up.. u overclock by increasing the fsb speed.. if your motherboard dosnt let u do that then u cant overclock..

    10x200fsb would be 2000mhz for example.. 10x220fsb would be 2200mhz and so on.. doing this also increases your memory speed and your htt and pci speeds which are all linked to the fsb speed..

    what u can do is all down to your motherboard bios.. some are intended for overclocking some arnt..

    trog

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page