1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New 2500K Overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by LightningJR, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Try the new BIOS and see how that goes. However, CPU PLL I keep at 1.8 for 4.5 GHz. Anything over that and it's not stable. You are running 1.9v or more. Look into that.
     
  2. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    1.8 is stock for some reason
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It is, but some people even lower it below that. I have tab mine lower than 1.8v. But I had some RAM issues and when I loaded up my saved file it had the PLL saved at 1.8v so it has just been running like that since.
     
  4. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i tried oc'ing it with stock pll voltage but didn't even boot
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida

    Don't wanna threadjack this thread so why don't you post your BIOS settings here in THIS thread and see if we can give you a hand? :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  6. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    LOL :laugh:


    [​IMG]

    Ignore the "3" hours in the notepad, I realize it's 2... NOW.. for some odd reason my brain computed 3 when my eyes saw 16:18 and 18:18... :banghead:

    It wont happen again.. unless......... it happens again.. :shadedshu :roll:

    I originally tried 1.270V @ 4.6Ghz, after 45min I received a BSOD..

    Continuing to push.


    Oh and I don't believe I have the option for an offset voltage.... This board doesn't have many features. I'm surprised I can OC this much on it. I have no option to increase or decrease my PLL voltage either.. But it's ok I am still impressed with these overclocks, plus I plan on buying a great X77/X79 1155 when they appear. :toast:
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  7. aayman_farzand

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Oh should've also clarified that. I used to OC the traditional way by changing the multiplier and manually setting a voltage. Doing that I needed 1.35v to get 4.5GHz stable, anything less won't even boot into windows.

    I do get ~0.968v on idle and my temps look great.
     
  8. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Yeah for overclocking I stick to Asus though Gigabyte has some nice boards with their copper layer too...
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Actually my post about derailing the thread was for another member who was seeking help. I was posting from the phone and didn't quote his previous reply and it's not really derailing, it's most like threadjacking, I have edited my post already. :)

    Man, 4.6 GHz is a hella nice clock dude.
     
  10. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Oh I know. I was just LOLing. :roll:
     
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    It's okay... :cry: :laugh:
     
  12. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    yeh I'm a bit disappointed with my ud5 with my i7. Needed so much voltage but then again it could just be the chip.
     
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I've had nothing but great experience overclocking with ASUS, both AMD and Intel.
     
  14. mypg0306

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    267 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    I agree. ASUS is a great mobo for overclocking.
     
  15. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yep for me it was ARMA II that showed me my OC was unstable, yet it would Prime all day long...Minor bump up in the V's and been fine ever since
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yep. I was able to do 3.6 MHz on a Phenom 9850 in Miami heat with a Thermaltake drive bay water cooling system. Fell in love with ASUS ever since.

    My first Intel system was a i7 920 and I had the EVGA X58 board, first model that came out. Was able to do 4732 MHz on air with my 920. I wanted to stick to EVGA for Intel but got a great deal on the rig I have now and this ASUS board is just awesome. :toast:

    :toast: I had that issue a while back with Crysis. As you said, slight bump in vcore did it for me.
     
  17. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    [​IMG]

    :toast:

    This was just another random voltage choice. I don't expect to get much lower, if any.. But it could be possible. Looks like I reached the 72.6C temp limit stated by Intel. Some people say up to 80C is fine though. IDK.
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I would keep it under 75*c. But great clock/voltage nonetheless. :toast:
     
    SK-1 and LightningJR say thanks.
  19. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Are you doing Blend Tests? Small-FTT tests for some reason are alot less likely to give you any crashes for some odd reason when dealing with Sandy.

    For example I could do small FTT runs for 5+ hours on my previous sandybridge rig but when I used the Blend test I'd crash almost instantly under the same settings.
     
  20. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Good to know.

    I'm running blend... It says it right in the notepad in the screenshots. :roll:
     
  21. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Jeez take enough stabs at me for choosing a gigabyte mobo. :p I do agree though, when I had an x58 chipset I had an ASUS P6T-deluxe and that was fantastic with my i7-930. The P67-UD5 was my first gigabyte board after being a loyal ASUS fanboy, but oh well lessons have been learnt :)
     
  22. GC_PaNzerFIN

    GC_PaNzerFIN

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    511 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    500
    Location:
    Finland
    Got my 2500K today and it does 4.8GHz 1.325V IBT with AVX and now running custom prime. 5GHz needs over 1.4V tho, but doesn't really matter. 4.8GHz is more than enough for 24/7 clocks anyway. :ohwell:
     
  23. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,496 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Lucky bastard :cry: . Thats the voltage I need for 4.3-4.4ghz
     
  24. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Looks like you have a great chip there, congrats. :toast:
     
  25. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    264 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Yes I agree. But the proof is in the pics ;):D Post YOUR proof.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page