1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New 3770K

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by drdeathx, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    I ditched my old 3770K and got a new one. WOW1 1.24 volts for 4.7Ghz (5 min in the mobo). The old chip needed 1.35 volts. sweet!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,050 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,207
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    meh. there are chips out there that can do 5.0 GHz at that voltage.

    Nice that you got a better chip than you last one, but your last one was garbage, and this one is just slightly on the good side of average. my review chip did 4.6 GHz @ 1.184V, 1.220 for 4.7 GHz, 1.275V for 4.8 GHz, provided it had the right board and cooling. That was an early retail chip bought locally.

    That's why you had issues clocking memory...you had a shit chip.

    Try for 5 GHz, that's the clock to "bin" IVB with. You got the thermal overhead to do it on your cooling. Max temp is 105-110c on IVB, just keep it under 100C under P95/IBT-type loads.
     
    erixx says thanks.
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    ppl still run prime :p
     
  4. SimpleTECH

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    91 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Especially the older version without AVX. :shadedshu
     
  5. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Oppps.. 5Ghz needs much more.... 1.35 volts ATM.....

    Last one did 6.1Ghz with a ton of voltage cursing through it so it may have been "broken in". Never had memory issues
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,121 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    Location:
    Oregon
    Wish my temps looked like that
     
  7. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,445 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    was going to bed, now i NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED to test these values hahahaha
     
  8. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,445 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    i am being serious... long night ahead :D
     
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Custom water
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,808 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    My chip uses the exact same voltage at that frequency... With much higher temps. :( Looks like you have some nice contact between the IHS and CPU.
     
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    What's the batch number on the box?

    you get a C or D?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page