1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New 4870 artifacting with ati tools beta .27

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by trt740, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it even artifacts after about 2 minutes at stock speeds with the fan on 45 percent?
     
  2. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    411 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Faulty memory send it back, warranty will cover it :)
     
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    why do you think? and whats even more goofy it seems fine now during retesting? it was having trouble big time for about ten minutes or so and now it is fine. With 260 prices dropping i'm getting just a little bit more intrested, l but not yet I still like ati. It's this little buggy shit making me mad.
     
  4. wolf2009 Guest

    lol , strange problem . try again .

    maybe it was just getting warmed up from all the time it had to spend under wraps , when ati woudn't release it.
     
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    okay now it's doing it again, anyone out there with a 4870 test you card with atitools beta .27 to see if it artifacts please. Might be the program.
     
  6. wolf2009 Guest

    alrite the kid's a failure , i think it wont stop peeing on the screen now . exchange it for another kid .

    or try lowering the clocks
     
  7. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    What a pain in the ass, before I return it anyone with a 4870 test yours please.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  8. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    That sucks, get the msi gtx 260, $300. Out of stock atm though.
     
  9. wolf2009 Guest

    yup .

    atitool doesn't artifact with my HD4850 . although that is a different memory type, if taht makes any difference . maybe ati tool is artifacting coz it has never seen gddr5 mem .
     
  10. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it's taking about 8 minutes to artifact now.
     
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  12. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    not sure whats the deal now up to 14 minutes, no artifacting 780/1090 fan at 35 percent load temp 75c. Hum gonna look into this what the heck?
     
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Assassin's Creed is a terrible game imo, that's too much more to make it worth it I think. That 280 is actually just about right priced, at least to hold you over until the 4870x2. :D
     
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so your on xp try .26 thats what im using on the 9600 GSO's
     
  15. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    that might be the ticket but, now my cards acting right gonna let it run for a few hours. I'm not sure but it might be the start of a issue.
     
  16. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    .26 locks up newer ati cards.
     
  17. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    This card is crazy the heat it puts out. I'm in air conditioned basement about 67F and my hands are a bit cold but my feet are getting warm next to my case. I'm not joking
     
  18. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    I've been running mine for the last 30 mins @ stock with no artifacting. It will only artifact if I set the speeds higher than 850/1150. It shouldn't artifact at all @ stock. I couldn't deal with the stupid heat either so I just stuck a delta fan on the thing.
     
    trt740 says thanks.
  19. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    mine will artifact at 790/1100 after about 10 minutes at 780/1090 no problem gonna try again at 790/1100. Thx for trying
     
  20. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    as soon as I touched the slidders artifacting. Gonaa try resetting it.
     
  21. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113

    Did you bios flash it to 850/1190 and did you increase the voltage? Also can you post the link on how you did it LOL! Might be the extra voltage making it stable.
     
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Ah, what news suggest that ATI tool .27 is compatible with 4870? Did I miss the announcement? Also, why isn't this posted in the ATI Tool sub forum?
     
  23. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    it's not compatable but the artifacting scanner works on it. Artifacting darnit again and it's doing it at any speed now. Okay damn Qram back it goes.
     
  24. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Handle try it on yours use the beta .27 and see if you get errors at 790/1100 in overdrive.
     
  25. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I see, then it would stand to reason that if the program in any way shape or form creates problems it's a result of it's compatibility to the video card, not the card itself. In the meantime, Rthdribl and other similar programs along with GPUz is a great way to determine thermal conditions.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page