1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New 512mb graphic card showing only 64mb in gpuz

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by mnr367, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Erm why would a 9 series card only have copyright 1999-2006, the 9 series didnt come out until 2008 so it should say copyright 1999-2008

    Source:
     
  2. mnr367 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    50 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    looks like its all pointing to a scam..
     
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,577 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,928
    A boxed card like the one you posted a photo of should have a cd with the driver included.
    And cables...

    Did you have a cd? If yes, install the driver on the cd provided.
     
  4. mnr367 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    50 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    this is the cd and manual i got

    [​IMG]
     
  5. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,150 (4.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,787
    Location:
    04578
    its a 9500gt from the looks i spent about 15mins on google looking for a PCB that matched his and i found one so from what i can tell it IS a 9500gt but im also going to say the cards defective if i dont think its a fake but i could be wrong as wizzard stated that fan logo is really off


    yea might be a possible fake but its not a 7200 either as i dont remember any 7200gs's having HDMI... that said the logo on the box and the logo on the card are way different they dont match at all
     
  6. paulharrison123

    paulharrison123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    179 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnsley, UK
    As said before, pretty much sure the card is gone, dont suppose you have another PCIe slot to put it in do you, seen this countless times with faulty cards in the job I do, not just Nvidia, but ATi aswell (although for some reason the ATis only seem to show 16gb of memory :( )
     
  7. mnr367 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    50 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i see some improvement after installing ...the driver from cd using add new hardware wizard

    th gpu-z now show like this

    [​IMG]

    only the name just changed in gpuz alll the other config show the same

    i tried some games.. it improved.. but only a little bit.. not up to the mark of 9500 gt.... seems like some thing more to do
     
  8. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Have you tried an older version of GPUZ yet?

    Just a thought.
     
  9. mnr367 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    50 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ya tried..showing the same.
     
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    its definetly a fake or broken imo, after reading through all that has been posted that seems to be the most logical answer.

    im leaning more towards fake..
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  11. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Don't use the add new hardware wizard, open up the file autorun.inf on the CD, and run the setup.exe file that the autorun.inf points to.
     
  12. enaher

    enaher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    417 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    :shadedshu from everything i've read seems similar to something that happend in my home country, rebadged cards to newer models, ati 8500 to 9550, nvidia 7200 gs to 8600 gt, seems they moified the bios you should check under the fan and see the core used on the card.
     
  13. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Sounds more like that is your on-board graphics. Go to device manger and shut that one down,
    uninstall the drivers you loaded and reinstall the newest driver for the 9000 series from
    Nvidia's website. I had the same card and it works great. Good Card for the price. Run's all
    the cod games and even BFBC2. You have to tone down the settings. I was running it on a
    Pentium 4 3.0 ghz with 2 gigs of 5300 and XP. It would run on Vista very well though.
     
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Going to have to say this is a fake card for sure.

    This would of been fixed 10 times over or not happen in the first place if the core used was the 9500gt core.
     
  15. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Your bandwidth should be in the 16 GBs area not 2 GB.
    You won't be able to play anything with that bandwidth.
     
  16. I owned an ASUS 9500GT, and a friend had a club3d 9500GT card. Your card looks more like his, because he did not have the SLI support.

    But a last question - can't you test it in any of your friends computers? Or do you have a local computer store where they can test it for you??
     
  17. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    take off the heatsink and tell us what the gpu is

    its more than likely a 7200GS

    watch what you buy next time,
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2010
  18. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    From what I've seen and read, to me, it all points to a chinese fake/rebadged model.
    For three reasons:

    1 - Random nvidia box without any manufacturer and a sticker with the model of the card (so it can be easily changed), instead of being printed in the box as part of the art.
    2 - Way basic cooler with the 1st nivida logo (chinese are very known to do this), here's another example (notice the driver CD that comes with the card :roll:).
    3 - Every one see all of those references to nvidia in the driver CD and the manual? :rolleyes: The manual and the driver CD should, at least, have one nvidia logo or copyright printed in there, instead of chinese symbols.
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,965 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Definitely a fake.

    There is no way the card pictured is a 9500GT. Where is the SPD/IF passthrough port?

    That is a dead give away.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Sir_Real

    Sir_Real New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Lincoln England
    Check out the heatsink :rolleyes:

    mnr367's 9500gt

    [​IMG]

    An old FX5500

    [​IMG]
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,276 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    it has no SLI connector, so i'd be leaning towards it being a scam.

    with a quick BIOS mod, you can change the text when the computer powers on - my brother has an "8800ABCDEFGT 2girls1cup edition" after i BIOS modded it for him.

    I think its very clear, you've been scammed with an old card that has been modified to vaguely look like a 9500GT
     
  22. paulharrison123

    paulharrison123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    179 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnsley, UK
    So it looks like a fake card, however, why would ANYONE fake such a low spec card? Surely thats like making fake 10 pence pieces :(

    Where abouts do you live mnr367?
     
  23. Nickzy

    Nickzy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Denmark
    He is from india :) and the card was sent as a gift from his uncle in dubai, if im not mistaken(the post is in the thread, somewhere)
     
    paulharrison123 says thanks.
  24. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    omfg haha thanks for the laugh on a Sunday morning Mussels :roll:
     
  25. paulharrison123

    paulharrison123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    179 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnsley, UK
    Damn, thats really unlucky, still cant understand why people would fake such a card though :(

    Sorry to hear about this mate :(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page