1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New board slow Raid0 speeds

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Grnfinger, May 26, 2013.

  1. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I just moved from a Mav IV Gene-Z to a Max V

    On my MIV Gene my Raid0 speeds were very nice
    2x Seagate 1TB 7200 platters

    [​IMG]


    On my Max V the write speed suffers a lot, reads are way down but nothing I will lose sleep over.

    [​IMG]

    Same drives, IRST 11.7.0.1013 just different boards.... Can someone help me out as to whats going on. Could Bios play a part ( like revision) I am running the oldest bios for my board.
     
  2. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Check the drivers for updates or a diff. version. And you need to update the BIOS cause it can affect the RAID speed. On their site you should be able to see if the RAID system was updated between the BIOS you are using and the latest one. I still say just install the latest ones.
     
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  3. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Will check out bios revisions .
    I asked over at the Asus forums but couldn't get an answer


    EDIT

    Updated bios to latest, and updated to latest IRST... speed is still terrible.
    wonder if the ASMedia ports would yield better results
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I take it that you're using the same stripe size as you were using before? Are you sure that isn't just coincidence? Check SMART just to make sure.
     
  5. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Same size 128k
    Swapped data cables

    tried every IRST from 11.7 to 12.6
    Speed is shit
     
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Did you switch RAID types. The second one looks like it is reading from both, but writing to only 1.
     
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,371 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Make sure nothing else is sharing the bandwidth with the links to the controller.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Nope it's a Raid0 array and short of breaking the set and rebuilding I give up


    I'm using a Maximus V Gene and the Raid is on the Intel 3GB/s ports as far as I know nothing else is on the pipe
    If I take the drives and plug them in to my X58 board I hit 225-230MB/s read and writes

    I think my board is a turd
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    This is possible. Have you tried removing one of your video cards to see if it helps?
     
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How is your SSD performance on that board? If it's the board you should be experiencing issues with your SSD's performance as well since it uses the "RAID controller" if you're using IRST. Did you ever try the ASMedia ports to see if that makes a difference?
     
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  11. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Did you start fresh or simply transplant your array over to the new board?

    I tried to do an Acronis transplant with this array but it was only getting like 700mb/s reads and I'm simply to impatient for that so I went fresh and now I'm satisfied
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2013
    Grnfinger says thanks.
  12. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    Have the GPU's out and just using the onboard video....could this be the problem?


    SSD performance is up to par Intel 520 Series 120GB hits 530 Write and 550 read so no problems there, my 2TB Green drive is almost as fast as my raid0 setup. Have yet to try the ASMedia ports. I put my SSD on there and it was way down compared to the Intel ports so I quickly abandoned the idea.


    I was lazy and just did a transplant... I'm moving the data over to other drives now so I can break the raid0 and rebuild. I did a fresh OS install and have the latest bios with injected 12.6 raid rom and latest IRST 12.6 installed on Win7 Ultimate. It seemed to improve the read speeds a lot but cant get the writes up to spec. 200MB/s and I would be happy
     
  13. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It is if you haven't installed the drivers for it.

    The SSD will suffer because it only have 1 PCI-E lane dedicated to it. It should be enough for RAID-0 with real hard drives though, might still be worth testing.

    Yeah, I would do this first. Start from scratch with a clean plate.
     
  14. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I have the Intel gpu drivers installed.
    Will break the set and rebuild after work tonight.
    I should play with the asmedia ports but I hear mixed things about them.


    Thanks for your help.

    EDIT

    I have split the raid formatted and rebuilt.
    After Windows formatted the space my Read speeds are fantastic 240+MB/s :D
    But my write speeds are still down
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 28, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page