1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New build first time---

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by saadzaman126, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    are you going to oc it? if not go with the 5000/MSI setup if you are E4600/DFI
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sorry cdawall, I still beleive the Intel+DFI would be the best route if you have the extra budget. Remember, at stock the e4600 performs just a teeny bit less, but overclocked it has tons of potential.

    One other thing to remember though, the AMD system cost a little less for barely any performance loss. In all honesty, save yourself a few bucks and put it towards your graphics or power supply. Go with the MSI +5000BE.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i said if he is staying stock go AMD if oc go e4600 ;)
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Meh, I rest my case with this one. Its going to have to be personal preference.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  5. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    wow thanx a lot guys so 5000 + be with msi kna2... thanks would that be the best mobo to go with the amd
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    for the price and not using a 125w phenom yes it is
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  7. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    thanx...
     
  8. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,258
    Location:
    S.E. Virginia
    unless you can do one of the new tri-core phenoms. If not, I agree with cda
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. wabbitslayer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    In Hell
    With your stated budget and experience level, may I suggest an AMD build on a gigabyte mobo and be done w/ it? You might could then drop the extra cash on nicer speakers or video card. No, your system won't be as "cool" as everyone else's on the internet, but you can have a reliable system that will probably smoke the one of anyone you're likely to meet.... outside of places like this.

    The biggest argument against that is the cpu/mobo is the heart of your system, and it's always easier to upgrade the other stuff later. BUT....odds are that by the time your knowledge exceeds what you could do w/ a gigabyte or similar board, it'll be time for a new system rebuild anyway.
     
    saadzaman126 and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    by the time he is looking t an upgrade phenoms will no longer be the annoying 125w TDP and he can just toss one in the MSI K9A2
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  11. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    y do stock setting of gigabyte are better than the msi also if gigabyte are these two allright

    Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 Socket AM2 AMD 770 Chipset Dual-Channel DDR2 /800/1066Mhz SATA 3Gb/s 7.1- Channel HD Audio Gigabit Lan PCI-Express 2.0 Graphic Slots Support AMD Quad Core
    $105

    Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H Socket AM2 AMD 690G Chipset Dual Channel DDR2 800 HD Audio ATI X1250 Integrated GPU Mirco ATX
    $82.99
     
  12. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    what about e4400 instead of e4600 because its cheaper?? would that work nicely with dfi?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page