1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

new build help with psu please

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by buckstar, May 7, 2012.

  1. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    hi just finished my new build and have no power from my psu. i have a green light on my motherboard but thats all i have. all connections are installed correctly. my case fans are not even spinning when connected to the psu. any ideas on this or is my psu dead? it's brand new tho.
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    sounds like you got a bad PSU. there is a trick to check it, give me a minute and I'll get you the details of that trick
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Please list your specs.
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    buckstar and Crap Daddy say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    will try that in a mo just need a paper clip. :)
    amd a8
    asus fm1 pro matx
    8 gig corsair v/ance 1866
    powercool 550w 80+ psu
    hd 6670
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Have you connected your fans to the headers on the mobo or directly from the PSU? CPU fan is spinning? Unplug your 24 pin and the 8 pin CPU and plug them again - I think they have to make a click - and try again
  7. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    will try but need to find a paper clip 1st ty
  8. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    ok so i did the paper clip thing and the psu and fan worked, so im just wondering if it might be the motherboard or ive not connected it up right? gonna check if i have cnnected the case switchs correctly could this be causing it not to work?
  9. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,078 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,980
    if you get a reaction of some kind from your computer when you push the power button, I don't think you hooked up the switches right. My next guess would be a bad motherboard.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    problem solved. it was the 8 pin power connector that clips into the mother board . i split it so its 4 pin and now everything is working fans and cpu etc. just not booting into windows 7 at the mo so thats my next step thanks for your kind help it's much appreciated
    Crap Daddy and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  12. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    yes very strange
  13. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yes? No? If you didn't have any Aux power for cpu that was the culprit.
  15. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    in my psu manual it says. note: 8 pin is mainly for servers .
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Attempt to run 8 pin anyways. ;)
  17. buckstar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    64 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    united kingdom
    if i run the 8 pin would it make any difference to using 4 pin?
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If you overclock it may help some.
  19. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Most high end motherboards have 8 pin CPU connector, which should be used unless stated otherwise

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page